HomeCricket NewsICC Men’s Cricketer Of The Year-Part II

ICC Men’s Cricketer Of The Year-Part II

ICC Mens Cricketer Of The Year 2008-13

The ICC cricket awards started attracting a lot of attention in the second five-year cycle. There were a lot of interesting performances during the period between 2008-13. The game saw a lot of new talent taking center stage. They did give the old guard a good run for their money. Cricketing stalwarts though continued to impress in the game’s longest format. The race to win ‘ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year’ started getting intense with each passing year. Let us look into details on ICC Mens Cricketer Of The Year 2008-13.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

We look at the ICC Mens Cricketer Of The Year 2008-13:

#1 2009 – Mitchell Johnson

He beat the likes of Gautam Gambhir, MS Dhoni, and Kumar Sangakkara to grab the pole position. Mitchell Johnson was self-admittedly surprised to win the trophy that year. He picked up 80 wickets in 17 Tests in addition to making 632 runs during the voting phase.

Johnson had a wonderful run in ODIs too. He played a total of 16 ODIs picking up 28 wickets at an average of 24.25. Johnson’s all-round credentials helped him prevail over his other illustrious peers.

#2 2010 – Sachin Tendulkar 

He was enjoying the second wind of his career. Sachin Tendulkar scaled new heights during the phase between August 2009-10. He became the first cricketer to score an ODI double hundred in February 2010. Tendulkar smashed 914 runs in 17 ODIs at an average of 65.28.

He had a stellar year in Tests too scoring 1064 runs in just 10 Tests at an outstanding average of 81.84. Tendulkar had to wade competition from the likes of Ryan Harris, Dale Steyn, and AB de Villiers.

Also Read: ICC Men’s Cricketer Of The Year 2004-08 – Part I

#3 2011 – Jonathan Trott

He was one of the leading batsmen in the world in both Tests and ODIs during the 2010-11 phase. Jonathan Trott was the rock at number 3 for the English side in both formats. He was a fine player of both pace and spin. Trott scored 1064 runs in 24 ODIs at an average of 48.36. He played 12 Tests scoring 1042 runs at a top average of 65.12. Alastair Cook, Hashim Amla, and Tendulkar were the other contenders for the trophy. 

#4 2012 – Kumar Sangakkara 

He had a brilliant 2011-12. Kumar Sangakkara’s career hit top gear in the latter half of his career. He was among the rare Asian batsmen who had a fantastic record overseas. Sangakkara had competition from Michael Clarke, Amla, and Vernon Philander. But his returns were far too impressive to be left behind. Sangakkara won the people’s choice award too. He was part of both the Test and the ODI team of the year.

#5 2013 – Michael Clarke

The 2013 ICC cricketer of the year was conferred on Michael Clarke. Anil Kumble led a five-member ICC selection committee and deemed Clarke to be the standout performer during the 2012-13 phase. Clarke notched up 1559 runs at a wonderful average of 70.86. He kept churning out double hundreds for fun during this period. Amla, James Anderson, and Dhoni were the other players in the running. But Clarke managed to bag the big prize. 

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024