HomeCricket NewsIND Vs WI 2nd ODI Playing XI - Key Players to watch...

IND Vs WI 2nd ODI Playing XI – Key Players to watch out for, team combinations

After winning the first ODI against West Indies, team India now aiming to secure the 3-match series when they walk onto the field on Sunday for the second game at Queens Park Oval, Port of Spain in Trinidad.

The first ODI was bit nail-biting, but in the end, it was the visitors who tasted success after beating West Indies by 3 runs.

The 300+ score battle saw numerous ups and downs, making it difficult to determine who would win. The excitement persisted until the very last ball of the game.

However, team India is currently playing without their regular captain Rohit Sharma and star players like Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah. Still they have managed to score well and won the game is a positive sign in the direction of creating a second solid team.

Shikhar Dhawan, who is the captain of the Indian side, scored the most runs from both sides and later received player of the match award for his 97 runs knock.

The two-time World Cup champions West Indies will have to rethink about their strategies as the second game will be a do or die game for them, if they lose this match then they will lose the series too.

IND Vs WI 2nd ODI Playing XI (Predicted):

India XI

Shikhar Dhawan ©, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

West Indies XI

Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (c & wk), Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Jayden Seales, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Motie

Team Combinations

Team India tried the new opening combination of Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill in first ODI, and it turned out to be extremely well as both the reliable batters added 119 for the first wicket in just 17.4 overs before Gill had to walk back into the pavilion after an unfortunate run out.

Their pair will again be seen to start Indian innings, with Shreyas Iyer, who was struggling with his form got promoted to no. 3 to play many balls as possible and he grabbed the opportunity with both hands and scored a half century. In the second ODI too, Shreyas Iyer will be a sound option at no.3, followed by Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda and Sanju Samson. While Axar Patel will handle the all-rounder responsibility for the team.

Mohammed Siraj will lead the Indian fast bowling department with Prasidh Krishna and Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal will be the no doubt best spinner to be included in the playing eleven.

Shai Hope and Kyle Mayers will lead the openers challenge for West Indies, while the Shamarh Brooks to play at No.3, followed by strong middle order consists of Brandon King and Nicholas Pooran and Rovman Powell.

Alzarri Joseph, Romario Shepherd Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie will be handy bowlers for West Indies against India in the second ODI.

Key players to watch out for in India versus West Indies 2nd ODI

The biggest thread for the West Inside side in the second ODI would be the Indian skipper Shikhar Dhawan and his new opening partner Shubman Gill.

However, the middle-order of team India didn’t showed any signs of power hitting in the first ODI, but as per players reputation and their calibre, Suryakumar Yadav and Deepak Hooda could be dangerous for West Indies to handle during the death overs.

Well, it will be interesting to see how West Indies will tackle Yuzvendra Chahal in the middle overs.

Kyle Mayers, who scored the highest run in the first game could give some headache to visitors. While Shamarh Brooks and Brandon King also are in good form.

Vineet Vashisht
Vineet Vashisht
Experienced News-writer and presenter with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets for India in T20Is Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024