HomeICC T20 World CupRohit Sharma Joins Kapil Dev & MS Dhoni in Elite List of...

Rohit Sharma Joins Kapil Dev & MS Dhoni in Elite List of Indian Captains

Rohit Joins Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni 

Rohit Joins Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni, Indian cricket has a rich history of remarkable achievements, with each era bringing its own set of heroes. In the realm of leadership, few names have left an indelible mark like Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni. With the recent triumph of Rohit Sharma in the T20 World Cup 2024, Indian cricket sees the emergence of another legendary captain.

Until 2024, only Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni had the distinction of leading India to a major ICC trophy. With Rohit Sharma’s recent success, Indian cricket celebrates the addition of another iconic leader. Rohit’s victory in the 2024 T20 World Cup not only signifies personal achievement but also heralds a new chapter in Indian cricket, inspiring future generations.

India’s last ICC trophy came back in the 2013 Champions Trophy but now with the T20 World Cup win Rohit Sharma helps India to break the ICC trophy drought. Rohit Sharma’s name will now be marked in the books of history in gold letters.


Kapil Dev: The Pioneer of Indian Cricket Glory

One of the best all-rounders of all time, Kapil Dev made cricket history by helping India win its first major ICC trophy. For Indian cricket, the 1983 ODI World Cup triumph was a turning point. India overcame the formidable West Indies in the final at Lord’s thanks to Kapil’s inspiring leadership; the success went beyond sports and gave Indian cricket supporters hope again.

MS Dhoni: Master of ICC Trophies

Known by many as “Captain Cool,” MS Dhoni transformed Indian cricket with his cool head and wise leadership. Leading a youthful Indian squad to win the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007, Dhoni made a spectacular start to his leadership career. The apex achievement of Dhoni’s career occurred in 2011 when India won the ODI World Cup at home, snapping a 28-year drought since Kapil Dev’s victory. But by winning the Champions Trophy in England, Dhoni cemented his reputation further as the Master of ICC trophies, becoming the first and only skipper to win all three major ICC trophies.

Rohit Sharma: Hitman Breaks the ICC Trophy Drought

Rohit Sharma the Hitman of Indian cricket finally edged his name into history after achieving ICC T20 World Cup in Barbados. This triumph came with a thrilling win over South Africa, marking a significant milestone in Rohit’s captaincy career.

His captaincy in the 2024 T20 World Cup was characterized by innovative strategies and an aggressive approach. Rohit’s victory in the 2024 T20 World Cup not only signifies personal achievement but also heralds a new chapter in Indian cricket, inspiring future generations.


Conclusion: Rohit Sharma Joins Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni

Rohit Sharma’s entry into this elite club of Indian captains marks a significant moment in the annals of cricket history. Rohit’s journey as a captain has been a blend of strategic brilliance and inspirational leadership. Known for his calm yet aggressive approach. People will now know Rohit Sharma’s name for a long long time. Kapil Dev (1983), MS Dhoni (2007,2011,2013) and Rohit Sharma (2024).

Abhinandan Krishnan
Abhinandan Krishnan
I am a passionate Digital Sports Journalist with a fervent focus on Cricket, football, and UFC. Currently employed at Stumps and Bails Company, I thrive on delivering captivating stories and insightful analysis in the ever-evolving world of sports. With a keen eye for detail and a love for the game, I strive to bring forth engaging content that resonates with sports enthusiasts worldwide. Join me on my journey as we explore the exhilarating realm of athletics, one story at a time.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Points Table

MLC 2024
TNPL 2024
LPL 2024




MI NY724015-0.451
LAK R724015-0.710
Lyca Kovai Kings54108+0.543
Chepauk Super Gillies64208+0.511
Trichy Grand Cholas63306+0.408
Dindigul Dragons53206+0.036
Nellai Royal Kings52215-0.135
IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans52304+0.405
Siechem Madurai Panthers41213-1.237
SKM Salem Spartans61502-0.969
Galle Marvels8530010-0.059
Jaffna Kings8530010-0.392
Colombo Strikers8440080.583
B-Love Kandy8350060.033
Dambulla Sixers835006-0.269

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Captains with most ICC Trophies Top-5 Batters with Most Runs in International Cricket Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets in Test Cricket Top 5 Indians with best strike rate in T20Is Top 5 Richest Cricket Boards in the World