HomeSeriesIndian Premier League 2021IPL 2021: Two Mistakes Committed By Every Team

IPL 2021: Two Mistakes Committed By Every Team

IPL 2021 has thrown many surprises. Midway postponement, MI not leading the table, SRH changing captains, 2021 has been stranger than 2020. All 8 teams have made few mistakes in the first half of IPL. stay with us to know Mistakes Committed by Every Team.

StumpsandBails looks at 2 mistakes committed by every team:

#8 Sunrisers Hyderabad 

  1. The overseas combination: SRH should have played Jason Holder along with David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, and Rashid Khan. But instead, they played Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman who disappointed. 
  2. The constant changes in the XI: The idea of dropping Manish Pandey and bringing in Virat Singh proved to be a failure. SRH didn’t have faith in their starting XI and that was their biggest mistake.

#7 Kolkata Knight Riders

  1. Top-order: Their batting lacked intent in almost all the games. KKR openers played without purpose and it hurt them.
  2. Tactics: Eoin Morgan’s captaincy has been poor. His tactic of not bowling Varun Chakravarthy to Glenn Maxwell and using Pat Cummins after the powerplay against DC cost KKR the game.

#6 Punjab Kings

  1. Middle-order failure: The middle order of Deepak Hooda, Shahrukh Khan, and Nicholas Pooran did not perform consistently for Punjab. This hurt them badly.
  2. Over-dependence on KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal: The game where Rahul and Agarwal played well Punjab Kings did well. The moment where they failed the entire batting order collapsed.

#5 Rajasthan Royals:

  1. Failure of Shivam Dube: Shivam Dube batting at number 4 proved to be a big failure. His knocks derailed RR every time in the tournament.
  2. Lack of quality Indian batsmen: Apart from Sanju Samson, RR lacks quality Indian batsmen who can control or dominate the game. They are over-reliant on Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson, and David Miller.

#4 Mumbai Indians:

  1. Failure of lower middle-order: The trio of Kieron Pollard, and Pandya Brothers failed in all games except the match against CSK. But MI has persisted with them despite their failures.
  2. Dropping Ishan Kishan: MI dropped Ishan Kishan after a couple of failures but played Krunal Pandya who wasn’t even bowling 2 overs. This move didn’t make any sense.

#3 Royal Challengers Bangalore:

  1. Lack of a solid number 3 batsmen: RCB has clearly lacked a good quality batsman at number 3. Their choices of Washington Sundar, Rajat Patidar, and Shahbaz Ahmed were disappointing.
  2. Their over-dependence on Harshal Patel: Harshal Patel is the current purple cap holder. But in the two games he was not playing well Virat Kohli continued to bowl him at the death. His overs proved to be costly as RCB went on to lose both those games.

#2 Chennai Super Kings:

  1. Weak bowling attack: CSK continue to persist with Shardul Thakur and Lungi Ngidi even though they have been expensive. CSK played Imran Tahir in just a single game and his absence has hurt CSK.
  2. Failure of Suresh Raina: Suresh Raina at number 4 is the only possible weak link in CSK’s power-packed batting lineup. He has been slow to get off the mark and this makes other batsmen take extra risks.

#1 Delhi Capitals:

  1. Steve Smith factor: Delhi Capitals have kept their hopes on Steve Smith at number 3. His failure to play attacking cricket is the only weakness of Delhi.
  2. Kagiso Rabada’s failure: Avesh Khan has led DC’s bowling splendidly. This has hidden Rabada’s poor bowling efforts. DC has been adamant to continue with Rabada and this has proven costly for them.   

Also read: IPL: 5 Ex-MI Players MI Might Target In 2022 Mega Auctions

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopal
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets for India in T20Is Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024