HomeCricket DialecticsAbhishek, Kishan, Gaikwad, or Jaiswal Who Will Replace Rohit Sharma in T20Is

Abhishek, Kishan, Gaikwad, or Jaiswal Who Will Replace Rohit Sharma in T20Is

3 Players Who Can Replace Rohit Sharma in T20Is 

Rohit Sharma Replacement: From middle-order batsman to one of the best openers in the T20I the Hitman Rohit Shamra has edged his name in the books of history. However, after the recent T20 World Cup victory Rohit has announced his retirement from the T20I format as a captain and also as a player. This means the final against South Africa was probably the last innings of Rohit Sharma in the T20I format.

Along with Rohit Sharma other notable players like Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja also announced their retirement from the T20I format. This was probably the end of an era and now a new group of youngsters will take on the field for India in T20Is from here on.

Looking at the past domestic tournaments and IPL it feels like the future of Indian T20 cricket is in safe hands with Hardik Pandya leading the future of the Indian cricket team. Now the management will try and focus on finding the right replacement for Rohit Sharma, it’s a difficult position to fill in due to what Rohit Sharma has done as an opener for India over the years. But players like Abhishek, Kishan, Gaikwad, and Jaiswal all are in contention for the opener role.


Who Will Replace Rohit Sharma as an Opener for India in T20Is;

#3 Ishan Kishan

The left-handed pocket rocket has already played a few innings as an opener for India in the past along with Rohit Sharma. He has so far played 32 games for India on the International level where he scored 796 runs. With six fifties and a batting average of 25.67 Ishan Kishan is a solid candidate for replacing Rohit Sharma.

However, over the past few months, Ishan Kishan’s relationship with the management has not been good, and where selection will be completely based on his upcoming performances. He will have to be at his best to regain his position in the team. As of now, he is a serious contender for this role in the future.

#2 Yashvasi Jaiswal

The young sensation has already proved his worth in the Indian team and his chances of replacing Rohit Sharma as an opener are almost sure but with other strong contenders in the line, the youngster has to make a significant impact in future matches to confirm his place in the team.

He was also part of India’s winning T20 World Cup squad, where he never got to play but he was a bench player as Rohit and Virat were opening for India. Now with the retirement of Rohit and Virat, the youngster has a real chance of breaking into the squad.

#1 Abhishek Sharma

Abhishek who is known for his explosive style of batting has caught the attention of everyone in the past but his recent IPL 2024 performance has brought even more limelight than before. He is also a similar kind of player when compared to Rohit Sharma. Rohit who is an aggressive stroke player gave India many good starts in the past and the management will be looking for a player who can do that, thats why Abhishek could be the right player if given a chance.


However, his chance will depend on his upcoming matches, where he will have to show his usual skills and tell why he is the right player to replace Rohit in T20Is.


Conclusion: What to Expect from The Youngsters

There are other players like Ruturaj Gaikwad, KL Rahul, and Shubman Gill who also be up for the task if given a chance so the race for the replacement is on and the competition is very tough with young and hungry players in the mix. However, as of now, it seems like either Jaiswal or Gaikwad will open the innings for India in the upcoming T20Is.

Abhinandan Krishnan
Abhinandan Krishnan
I am a passionate Digital Sports Journalist with a fervent focus on Cricket, football, and UFC. Currently employed at Stumps and Bails Company, I thrive on delivering captivating stories and insightful analysis in the ever-evolving world of sports. With a keen eye for detail and a love for the game, I strive to bring forth engaging content that resonates with sports enthusiasts worldwide. Join me on my journey as we explore the exhilarating realm of athletics, one story at a time.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Points Table

LPL 2024
MLC 2024
TNPL 2024
Jaffna Kings642008+0.302
Galle Marvels642008+0.087
Colombo Strikers523004+0.067
Dambulla Sixers523004-0.171
B-Love Kandy624004-0.317
MI NY2110021.472
LAK R312002-0.542
Nellai Royal Kings220040.394
Lyca Kovai Kings220040.350
Trichy Grand Cholas211021.275
Dindigul Dragons211020.022
Chepauk Super Gillies31202-0.021
SKM Salem Spartans31202-0.097
Siechem Madurai Panthers21102-1.452
IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans20200-0.400

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top-5 Batters with Most Runs in International Cricket Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets in Test Cricket Top 5 Indians with best strike rate in T20Is Top 5 Richest Cricket Boards in the World Teams with most ICC trophies in senior men’s cricket