Yasir Shah returns to Pakistan’s squad for two-match test series against Sri Lanka

Yasir Shah returns to Pakistan's squad
Image Source: stumpsandbails.com
Article top

Yasir Shah returns to Pakistan’s squad: For their forthcoming two-match Test series against Sri Lanka away from home, Pakistan picked an 18-player team, with leg-spinner Yasir Shah returning to the squad after regaining match fitness.

He sustained a thumb injury during the National T20 Cup last year, but he was able to join the trip after recovering in time. Mohammad Nawaz and Salman Ali Agha, two spin all-rounders who are called up, are part of a team that favors spin.

“Taking into account the circumstances in Sri Lanka, we chose this team and provided them with the greatest tools. Yasir Shah’s return strengthens our spin department. He demonstrated his ability to win matches on our previous visit to Sri Lanka, and Sajid Khan paved the route for him.

Two spin all-rounders, Mohammad Nawaz and Salman Ali Agha, as well as left-arm orthodox Nauman Ali, complete up the spin department. Salman Ali Agha is a useful off-spin alternative and has demonstrated consistent batsmanship over the previous three seasons, according to chief selector Muhammad Wasim.

Despite dismal performances against the Australians, the core team of the group is still present since it is made up of tried and true players.

“Our team recently put on strong performances in Bangladesh, and even though the results against Australia weren’t ideal, we displayed solid cricket. For that reason, we have retained the core to instill consistency and continuity, and we have reduced the squad size after the relaxation of Covid-19-induced travel restrictions.”

“Since we are competing for World Test Championship points, these two games are highly important for our team. I want the best for our sons, and I know they’ll do us well,” he continued.

Pakistan Test Team:

Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, and Yasir Shah make up the Pakistan Test team.

Matched Content Ad