WTC Final: India Post 146/3 On Day 2 As Light Spoils The Play

WTC Final: India Post 146/3 On Day 2 As Light Spoils The Play

Day 1: Rain washed out the whole first day of play in the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand at Southampton. Event the toss has been delayed because of the rain.

On Day 2 of the first World Test Championship final at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and chose to bowl first against India. New Zealand has four specialized fast bowlers and one seam bowler in the form of Colin de Grandhomme. India, on the other hand, has kept the playing XI that was declared on Thursday.

Here Is The Playing 11 Of India And New Zealand For WTC Finals:

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand XI: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

Shubhman Gill and Rohit Sharma have opened the Indian batting innings and Initially, both the batsmen took time to settle but later they have managed to build 62 runs partnership in 121 balls. But Kiwis pace machine Jamieson has picked the crucial wicket of Rohit and he was sent to the dugout for 34.

Soon after Rohit’s dismissal, Gill was sent back by Wagner with a great outswinger. Gill had to walk out for 28 in 64 balls. Pujara as always took his time to settle down but was unable to keep his previous form going in this game – Trent Boult has stuck him with LBW and he has to depart for just 8 runs.

Then Indian skipper Virat Kohli and Rahane have stood strong for India and made an excellent standout partnership of 58 runs.

At the End of Day 2:

India is at 146/3 in 64.4 overs.

  • Virat Kohli – 44 (124) | Rahane – 29 (79)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here