WTC Final: BCCI Release 15-Member Indian Team for The Final Clash Against NZ

ECB Approves To India's Request For Warm-Up Matches
Image Source:
Article top

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named a 15-man team for the ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand, which will take place at Southampton’s Ageas Bowl from June 18 to 22.

The squad’s strength was previously stated by the board to be 20, but that number has been reduced to 15 when Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shardul Thakur, Mayank Agarwal, and Washington Sundar were denied.

Indeed, Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma were expected to opt for openers, which Agarwal’s axing reinforced. Gill excelled brilliantly during last year’s India’s Australia tour and played an important role in the history of the win at Gabba, Brisbane.

Meanwhile, there’s still no word on how the team’s bowling squad will dress. India now has pacers Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav to select from after Shardul Thakur’s departure. Despite Siraj’s outstanding first series in Australia, the team is likely to stay with Bumrah, Sharma, and Shami.

It takes four pacers and a spinner to choose from against three pacers and two spinners. In this connection, a final choice is known once the team has gone to the final surface for the headline battle.

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are the only spinning options left for india after Axar and Sundar’s exit. Axar had a historic debut series against England and took 27 Wickets in three Tests, while Sundar did a terrific tour of Australia and did the same with England at home. However, Ashwin and Jadeja’s experience has given them an advantage.

In addition, the team kept Wriddhiman Saha with Rishabh Pant in the 15-member team who still has the decision for the following outstanding performances with Australia, followed by the home series against England.

India’s squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here