HomeWomen's IPLWPL 2023 player auction to be held in Mumbai on February 13

WPL 2023 player auction to be held in Mumbai on February 13

The first Women’s Premier League (WPL) player auction is likely to occur on February 13 in Mumbai. Let us look into details on WPL Auction 2023.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

As per the media reports, the inaugural Women’s Premier League auction will very certainly take place in Mumbai’s Jio World Convention Centre.

The five newly established franchises would have had just under a month to prepare for the inaugural WPL season. The WPL 2023 is anticipated to run from March 4 to 24. Originally, the BCCI was considering hosting the players’ auction on February 6 in Mumbai. The BCCI was compelled to alter that strategy, nonetheless, for two reasons.

One, the bulk of the five WPL franchise owners also own teams in the ILT20 in the United Arab Emirates and the SA20 in South Africa. With both competitions’ championship games set for February 12 and February 11, respectively. Due to the fact that the WPL player auction and knockout rounds will both take place in different nations. The franchises’ owners and support staff may not be able to attend both events.

IPL team owners bought WPL franchises

The five WPL franchises were purchased by the owners of three IPL team – Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Delhi Capitals. Along with Adani Group and Capri Global for a total of INR 4669.99 crore (about USD 572.78 million). This was the largest deal ever made in women’s cricket.

Four of the five WPL franchises—MI Emirates, Dubai Capitals, Gulf Giants (Adani), and Sharjah Warriors—have teams in the ILT20.

Following requests from a few WPL franchises with teams competing in the ongoing ILT20, the date (February 13) has been set. These teams requested that the auction take place following the ILT20 final on February 12 and the BCCI complied.

Who is the most expensive team in WPL?

Ahmedabad was the most expensive team, and the Adani Sportsline Group paid INR 1,289 crores to acquire them. Mumbai was purchased for INR 912.99 crores by Indiawin Sports, the MI owners. Bangalore was purchased for INR 901 crores by Royal Challengers Group, who is also the IPL franchise RCB’s owners.

JSW-GMR Cricket Group, the owners of the IPL side Delhi Capitals, paid INR 810 crores for Delhi, while Capri Global Holdings successfully bid INR 757 crores for Lucknow.

WPL Venue

The competition is scheduled to take place at two locations in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. The Wankhede Stadium has been designated for the IPL. While the WPL will be played at Brabourne and DY Patil Stadiums. Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune serving as a fallback location.

WPL Where to watch?

Viacom18 Media Private Limited has purchased the media rights for the WPL for five seasons (2023 to 2027) For a total of INR 951 crores.

The auction will probably be shown on Jio Cinema, a sports and entertainment channel owned by Viacom18.


Vineet Vashisht
Vineet Vashisht
Experienced News-writer and presenter with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry.

Most Popular

Recent Comments