Women’s T20 Tournament 2022 has been shifted from Lucknow to Pune and starts May 23rd

Women's T20 Challenge 2022
Image Source: stumpsandbails.com
Article top

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Tuesday that the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 will take place from May 23 to May 28. The final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 29.

All of the Women’s T20 Challenge matches will be held in Pune. Three round-robin games will be played, with the final on May 28.

The Women’s T20 Challenge began in 2018 with a one-off encounter between two IPL Trailblazers and Supernovas teams. The Challenge was increased to three teams in 2019, with IPL Velocity joining the two previous teams. The matches were canceled last year due to the women’s tour of Australia.

Meanwhile, the BCCI has verified prior rumors on the IPL 2022 playoff venues. On May 24, Qualifier 1 will take place at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, followed by the Eliminator on May 25. The IPL 2022 final will be held on May 29 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which will host Qualifier 2 on May 27.

Prior to this news, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly announced on April 23 that the next edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 will take hold at Ekana Stadium in Lucknow from May 24 to 28. However, because of the bio bubble and other COVID-19-related measures, it was agreed that the competition would be moved to Pune after negotiations.

The Women’s T20 Challenge will be held alongside the IPL play-offs after a one-year break due to COVID-19. The Women’s T20 Challenge, already in its fourth season, will be the last of its sort, since the event will be expanded to six teams in 2023.

Only two teams, the Supernovas, and Trailblazers competed in the first edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge, which was held in 2018. Velocity was introduced to the mix as a third team in 2019. Due to COVID-19 limitations in India, the Women’s T20 Challenge was held in the UAE the following year, which was now a three-team affair.

A total of four matches will be contested in the Women’s T20 Challenge, the same as in previous editions. In a round-robin system, each team plays the other once, with the top two teams advancing to the finals. The first edition was held in Mumbai, followed by the second in Jaipur, the third in the United Arab Emirates, and the fourth in Pune.

Matched Content Ad