Top-5 bowlers with highest number of wickets in IPL history

Who is the highest wicket-taker in IPL
Article top

Who is the highest wicket-taker in IPL?

Yuzvendra Chahal made history by taking the most wickets in the Indian Premier League (IPL) during the Rajasthan Royals’ game against the Kolkata Knight Riders on Thursday. Let us look into details on Who is the highest wicket-taker in IPL?

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

Shimron Hetmyer’s excellent catch allowed Chahal to dismiss KKR captain Nitish Rana, passing Dwayne Bravo in the competition’s list of wicket-takers. Before the game, Chahal and Bravo were tied with 183 wickets each, but Rana’s dismissal solidified the spinner’s place at the top of the list. 

Chahal accomplished this feat with the wicket of KKR captain Nitish Rana in his very first over of the game. He dismissed Venkatesh Iyer for a 42-ball 57, Shardul Thakur for 1, and the in-form Rinku Singh in his subsequent overs, bringing his season total to 21 wickets. Chahal currently leads the IPL 2023 in wickets taken.  

Chahal surpassed all-rounder Dwayne Bravo’s previous record of 183 wickets with his current total of 187 wickets in 143 games.  

Follow Stumps and Bails for frequent cricket predictions

Chahal had taken 27 wickets in 17 innings during the 2022 season, winning the purple cap last season and helping the Royals advance to the final game. 

Piyush Chawla (174), Amit Mishra (172), and Ravichandran Ashwin (RR) are the third, fourth, and fifth-place finishers in the top five wicket-takers in the IPL, respectively. 

1Yuzvendra Chahal1431877.65
2Dwayne Bravo1611838.38
3Piyush Chawla1761747.85
4Amit Mishra1601727.36
5Ravichandran Ashwin1951717.0

Who is the highest wicket-taker in IPL?

Yuzvendra Chahal became the IPL’s all-time highest wicket-taker after Thursday’s encounter against the Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens.


Matched Content Ad