Who is N Jagadeesan? The cricketer who smashed 277 in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Who is N Jagadeesan
Image Source: BCCI
Article top

Tamil Nadu’s wicket-keeper batsman Narayan Jagadeesan continued his excellent Vijay Hazare Trophy and smashed a List-A century fifth time in a row. Making him the first cricketer in history to do so. But if you thought that was the end of it, this is only the beginning. Let us look at Who is N Jagadeesan in detail?

As he utterly dismantled the Arunachal bowling attack, Jagadeesan made the most of his current purple patch. Jagadeesan scored his century in just 76 balls before going into overdrive and scoring the next 100 runs in just 38. The best is yet to come!

Jagadeesan playing for Tamil Nadu in the Vijay Hazare game against Arunachal Pradesh on Monday was just extraordinary. After reaching the 200-run mark, he added 77 more runs to overtake Indian skipper Rohit Sharma’s 264 record and also broke record of the highest-individual score in List-A. That record previously held by Alistair Brow of England.

Jagadeesan just took 141 balls to play a knock of 277 at a whopping strike rate 196.45. His knock included 25 fours and 15 sixes.

Before we talk about his subsequent tremendous knocks. Let’s learn more about him.

Who is N Jagadeesan?

Narayan Jagadeesan is an Indian player, who represents Tamil Nadu in first class cricket. He made his first class debut for Tamil Nadu in 2016-17 Ranji Trophy season and since then he is an integral part of the team.

Jagadeesan made his List-A debut in 2016-17 season too. When he stared his journey in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The right-handed batter was then bought by the one of the most successful franchises in the Indian Premiere League (IPL), Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in 2018, and he made his debut for CSK in 2020 IPL.

He is a familiar name in the domestic cricket of India and known for scoring runs consistently.

On November 21, in a Vijay Hazare game against Arunachal Pradesh, he once again grabbed everyone attention by smashing the highest individual score in men’s List-A cricket.

Record-breaker Narayan Jagadeesan

  1. 277 off 141 by Narayan Jagadeesan is the highest individual score in the history of men’s List-A cricket.
  2. With a brilliant century he claimed the record of scoring the most consecutive centuries in a List-A cricket.
  3. With this ton he also secured the record of hitting most hundreds in a Vijay Hazare Trophy season.
  4. His 400-plus run partnership with Sai Sudharsan is now the record partnership as they became the first pair to register 400-run in a List-A cricket.
  5. Courtesy of his excellent knock of 277, Tamil Nadu registered a magnificent record of scoring 500-plus run in List-A cricket game. 506 for 2 by Tamil Nadu is now the highest total ever recorded by any team in the history of List-A cricket.
Matched Content Ad