Which bowler has the most number of hat-tricks in IPL?

Image Source: Stumpsandbails.com
Article top

Clamming a hat-trick is every bowler’s dream, but as rightly said, you have to follow your dreams with full dedication and commitment then only you can achieve your dreams.

Keeping this thing in mind, every bowler works hard and few of them really achieved what they wanted. There are many players who took hat-tricks in international cricket, but today we are here to discuss the players who took the most number of hat-tricks in the biggest cricket league in the world, the Indian Premier League.

Let’s take a look at which bowler has taken the most number of hat-tricks in the Indian Premier League.

It’s none other than the spin master Amit Mishra. The leg-spinner took hat-tricks the most number of times (3). Mishra, who is known for his clever leg-spin bowling did this wonder first in the inaugural season itself when he was playing for Delhi Daredevils, the second time he grabbed the hat-trick in 2011 and became the only bowler of the 4th edition who took a hat-trick. In the 6th edition, he again showed his class and picked up a hat-trick.

The other guy who took the honors of taking hat-tricks more than 1 time is our T-20 World Cup and 2011 Cricket World Cup hero Yuvraj Singh.

Yuvraj, who is majorly known for hitting big sixes and his charismatic aura on the cricket field, is the second bowler in the history of IPL, who took the hat-trick multiple times.

The Punjabi boy, while playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2009, bagged two hat-tricks in the same season (2009), and again proved his all-rounding skills in front of everyone.

Apart from Amit Mishra and Yuvraj Singh, there were 15 other players who claimed the hat-tricks in IPL but for 1-1 time each.

In the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League back in 2008, it was Lakshmipathy Balaji, who started the trend of picking up hat-trick in the cash-rich league when he bowled a spectacular spell of 24 runs in 4 overs and 5 wickets against the then strong Punjab team.

Later, other followed the suit, and the inaugural season itself, total three bowlers managed to take hat-tricks

Lakshmipathy Balaji, Amit Mishra, Makhaya Ntini (2008)

So far, including the ongoing IPL 2022 season, as many as 18 different bowlers took 22 hat-tricks combined.






Lakshmipathy Balaji, Amit Mishra, Makhaya Ntini

Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Chennai Super Kings

Kings XI Punjab, Hyderabad Deccan Chargers, Kolkata Knight Riders


Yuvraj Singh (x2), Rohit Sharma

Kings XI Punjab, Hyderabad Deccan Chargers

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Hyderabad Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians


Praveen Kumar

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Rajasthan Royals


Amit Mishra

Hyderabad Deccan Chargers

Kings XI Punjab


Ajit Chandila

Rajasthan Royals

Pune Warriors India


Sunil Narine, Amit Mishra

Kolkata Knight Riders,

Sunrisers Hyderabad,

Kings XI Punjab, Pune Warriors India


Pravin Tambe, Shane Watson

Rajasthan Royals, Rajasthan Royals

Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad


Axar Patel

Kings XI Punjab

Gujarat Lions


Samuel Badree, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Gujarat Lions, Rising Pune Supergiant

Mumbai Indians, Rising Pune Supergiant, Sunrisers Hyderabad


Sam Curran, Shreyas Gopal

Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals

Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore


Harshal Patel

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Mumbai Indians


Yuzvendra Chahal

Rajasthan Royals

Kolkata Knight Riders

Matched Content Ad