West Indies Finalise 15-Man Squad For The ODI Series Against Australia

Kieron Pollard About Pitch in Barbados
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

For the forthcoming ODI series against Australia, Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced a 15-man team. Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, and Sheldon Cottrell have all been recalled after missing the Sri Lanka series earlier this year due to fitness issues. let’s look at West Indies ODI Squad 2021

Kyle Mayers and Kevin Sinclair, who were both in the series unable to maintain their positions. In the T20Is against South Africa, Sinclair excelled for the West Indies. Mayers, on the other hand, is supposed to play in the current T20 Blast for Birmingham Bears.

Anderson Phillip, a 24-year-old bowler who got his West Indies debut against Sri Lanka in ODI, did not lose his spot. Following the series victory against Sri Lanka, Lead Selector Roger Harper discussed the importance of maintaining momentum.

‘Playing in familiar home conditions, hopefully, will bring out the best’: Roger Harper

This squad is coming off a comprehensive series win against Sri Lanka which should boost their confidence going into what is expected to be a tougher contest against Australia,” Harper said in an Interview.

“Playing in familiar home conditions, hopefully, will bring out the best in each player thereby enabling the team to perform at a consistently high standard. This CG Insurance ODI series against Australia is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualification process where every game and every point counts, so it is very important,” he added.

The three-match ODI series between Australia and the West Indies begins on Tuesday, July 20 at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

Because the games are part of the ICC World Cup Super League, each one is important. The West Indies are ranked 8th in the ICC ODI rankings, while Australia is ranked second.

As of now, two sides are preparing for a five-match T20I series starting on Friday, July 9 at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia. The hosts come into the series having lost to South Africa by reaching 2-3.

West Indies ODI Squad 2021

Kieron Pollard (C), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd

Also read: Manu Sawhney The ICC CEO, Has Been Relieved Of His Duties With ‘Immediate Effect’

Matched Content Ad