India Tour Of West Indies – West Indies Cricket Announce Their 14-Man T20 Squad

India Tour Of West Indies - West Indies Cricket Announce Their 14-Man T20 Squad
India Tour Of West Indies - West Indies Cricket Announce Their 14-Man T20 Squad
Article top

West Indies has announced their 14-man squad on Monday for the first two T20 matches against India in Florida. The selectors have included the T20 specialists, Sunil Narine, and Kieron Pollard into the squad on Monday.

The all-rounder Andre Russell, was named in the squad after he has exited the World Cup to undergo an operation on his troublesome left knee. He will be undergoing a fitness test before the two matches of West Indies in Florida.

The West Indies team has announced Anthony Bramble as their wicket-keeper batsman into the 14-member squad. He played 12 T20 games and 46 List A games and displayed his batting and keeping abilities in the West Indies Championship.

“This squad is an excellent balance of experience and youth. It’s not just about the present but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title. We have to make sure that we put certain things in place now so that when it comes to picking the squad for the T20 World Cup, it becomes easier, so we are giving more players the opportunity to play and get the exposure.” – Panel Robert Haynes (West Indies Cricket Chairman).

“We felt that players like Narine and Pollard, who have played well in T20 leagues around the World, once they are fit and mentally ready to play, we must give them the opportunity to represent the West Indies again.” – Panel Robert Haynes added.

Opener John Campbell and spinner Khary Pierre were also included in the squad and are set to be led by Carlos Brathwaite in the shortest format.

“We have been following his performances in regional competitions over the years and it cannot be forgotten that he led the West Indies ‘B’ Team to the GT20 in Canada, and that team did well to reach the Final,” Haynes said. “We figured that though Nicholas Pooran will be the first-choice wicketkeeper, we needed to have someone to deputize in case something unexpected happens and he is a perfect choice. He is 27 and has a lot of ambition, and we saw his character come out the way he batted whenever Guyana Jaguars were in problems in the West Indies Championship and Super50 Cup, so we know he is capable of getting the job done.”- Panel Robert Haynes said.

Veteran Opener Chris Gayle made himself unavailable for the series and will feature in Canada’s Global T20 league instead.

West Indies will now take on with India in three T20’s, three ODI’s and two test matches.  The first two T20 matches are going to be held at Florida on August 3 and 4 and finals of the series will be played in Guyana on August 6.

West Indies Squad for two T20 matches:

View below topics in this post

  1. John Campbell
  2. Evin Lewis
  3. Shimron Hetmyer
  4. Nicolas Pooran
  5. Kieron Pollard
  6. Rovman Powell
  7. Carlos Brathwaite (c)
  8. Keemo Paul
  9. Sunil Narine
  10. Sheldon Cottrell
  11. Oshane Thomas
  12. Anthony Bramble
  13. Andre Russell
  14. Khary Pierre.
India’s Tour of West Indies 2019
Sl.No Date Match  Venue
1 3rd August 1st T20 Fort Lauderhill
2 4th August 2nd T20 Fort Lauderhill
3 6th August 3rd T20 Guyana
4 8th August 1st ODI Guyana
5 11th August 2nd ODI Trinidad
6 14th August 3rd ODI Trinidad
7 22nd Aug-26th Aug 1st Test Antigua
8 30th Aug-3rd Sep 2nd Test Antigua
Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here