West Indies Announce Their WC Squad

West Indies To Tour Sri Lanka For Three ODI And Two T20
Image Source : Twitter.com

Finally, WI announces their 15 men world cup squad on 25th Apr 2019. Andre Russel got a chance to play in the WC, who did not feature in ODI since 2015. S.Narine Misses out because of his finger injury. K.Pollard who did not feature in ODI since 2016 was not selected. Alzarri Joseph who is struggling with shoulder injury misses out.

“We had a lot of dialogue with Sunil Narine. He assured that he would have loved to play in the World Cup but unfortunately, he has an injured finger. He’s getting treatment after every game in IPL and he’s not capable at the moment to bowl 10 overs. He’s struggling to bowl even four overs in the IPL.” – Robert Haynes CWI Chairman

“I spoke to Andre a few days ago. He has a few niggles. He has some pain behind his knee, but he assured the selection panel that he’ll be okay for the World Cup,” – Robert Haynes CWI Chairman

Jason Holder will be the captain for the squad. Pooran will be the wicketkeeper for the team.

WI to play a tri-series against Ireland and Bangladesh in Ireland before the WC. Which starts from 5th May 2019. Let’s see if the WI players leave IPL midway or they will continue to play the rest of the matches. A. Russel, C.Brathwaite, C.Gayle, E.Lewis, N.Pooran, O.Thomas are featuring in this edition of IPL.

So Here is the 15 Men preliminary squad for WC 2019:

  • Jason Holder (c)
  • Andre Russell
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Carlos Brathwaite
  • Chris Gayle
  • Darren Bravo
  • Evin Lewis
  • Fabian Allen
  • Kemar Roach
  • Nicholas Pooran (wk)
  • Oshane Thomas
  • Shai Hope
  • Shannon Gabriel
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Shimron Hetmyer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here