Wayne Parnell Joins Karachi Kings In The Absence Of Mitchell McClenaghan

Wayne Parnell replaces Mitchell McClenaghan
PSL, Wayne Parnell, Mitchell McClenaghan
Article top

31-year-old South African all-rounder Wayne Parnell has replaced Mitchell McClenaghan in the Karachi Kings squad ahead of their Pakistan Super League 2020 playoffs. As per reports, Mitchell McClenaghan will be unavailable Karachi Kings following the COVID-19 quarantine protocols in New Zealand.


View this post on Instagram

Made it to Karachi. ✈️🇵🇰 #karachi #alhamdulillah

A post shared by Waleed Wayne Parnell (@parnygram) on

Meanwhile, Peshawar Zalmi has replaced Daren Sammy with Sohaib Maqsood before heading towards the PSL 2020 playoffs. According to a PSL media release, Sammy will miss the tournament due to issues with logistical formalities.


Several Players Backed Out of PSL 2020

Peshawar Zalmi previously replaced Saqib Mahmood in place of Liam Livingstone, who got a call from England for their South Africa tour. Multan Sultans brought in Brendan Taylor and Joe Denly in place of James Vince and Mahmudullah. Both James Vince and Mahmudullah were tested positive for COVID-19 before heading for the tournament.

Tamim Iqbal, Faf du Plessis, Adam Lyth, and Sherfane Rutherford are amongst the players who were roped in by PSL teams with multiple players backing out of the knockout stage due to their respective reasons. Pakistan Super League 2020, which started earlier this year in February, got postponed amid the Coronavirus outbreak in Pakistan.

PCB announced the revised schedule of the fifth edition of the PSL in September in order to complete the remaining portion of the T20I series. The kickoff games will be played on November 14 and 15, whereas, the final is scheduled to be played on November 17. PCB previously announced that the games will be played in Lahore but later changed the venue to the national stadium in Karachi. Lahore’s bad air quality was cited as the reason behind the change in venue.

Multan Sultans and Karachi Kings will be up against each other in the first qualifier on November 14. Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi will play the first eliminator on the same day, November 14. The second eliminator is scheduled to be played on November 15 and the finals will be on November 17.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here