Vivo IPL 2019 – Mumbai Indians Dramatic Win Against Defending Champions CSK

Vivo IPL 2019 - Mumbai Indians Dramatic Win Against Defending Champions CSK
Credits :

Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by 1 run and won the Vivo Ipl 2019 for the fourth time at Rajiv Gandhi stadium in Hyderabad.

Mumbai had won the toss and elected to bat first. MI openers had a decent start to their innings. Rohit Sharma and Quinton de cock have started scoring in sixes and hit 3 sixes from Deepak Chahar over. Later both the opening pair were departed by the CSK bowling opening pair Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar.

Then Surya Kumar Yadav and Kishan steadied the ship and stitched a partnership of 37 runs. they had a second collapse of innings where both set batsmen got out.

Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya added 39 runs in quick time before the latter was trapped in front of the stumps. It was then left to birthday boy Pollard to take MI to a respectable total, where he ended with 41. And MI reaching the below-par total of 149.

At the start of the chase for CSK, Faf du Plessis dominated the opening partnership scoring 26 runs and got stumped by Quinton de Cock in Kurnal Pandya over. Later Watson and Suresh Raina added 37 runs for the second wicket and helped CSK to consolidate.

Watson, as usual, took time to settle and scored runs in the later stage of the innings, at one stage he was looking to win the match on his own. MS Dhoni wicket was a turning point in the match. Then Watson took on experienced Malinga to 21 runs in an over and Krunal Pandya to 20 runs. He was dominating the game un-till the last 2 balls of innings, where CSK needed 4 runs in 2 balls. Thakur took 2 runs in one and CSK just needed 2 runs in 1 ball. It was Shardul Thakur on strike facing the yorker machine Malinga and he sealed the match by taking Shardul Thakur wicket.

For MI, JaspritBumrah (2-14) was sensational with the ball, while Rahul Chahar who dismissed Suresh Raina to trigger a middle-overs collapse. Krunal Pandya and Malinga picked up a wicket each.

Jasprit Bumrah has been awarded Man of the Match for his excellent Spell of 4-0-14-2 Econ – 3.50.

After winning the match, Rohit Sharma has become the first captain to win four IPL titles. And MI is the only team to win over CSK for four times in a single season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here