Vijay Hazare Trophy Finals 2022-23: Saurashtra Beats Maharashtra by 5 Wickets to List Trophy in Front of Home Crowd

Vijay Hazare Finals
Image Source: Twitter
Article top
Vijay Hazare Finals

We finally have winners for Vijay Hazare Finals 2022-23! In the final contest between Saurashtra and Maharashtra, the home team emerged victorious against first-time finalists. Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets to win the trophy for the second time.

Saurashtra won the toss and elected to bowl first. In the first innings, they restricted Maharashtra to 248 for 9 in 50 overs. This seemed like an easy target to chase. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 108 runs for the team. In return, Saurashtra chased the score in 46.3 overs thanks to Sheldon Jackson’s unbeaten 133.

Vijay Hazare Finals: Saurashtra Lifts Trophy in Front of Home Crowd

Given how much the surface had loosened under the scorching sun, the aim of 249 was unquestionably 25–30 runs below par. The pitch flattened out to become a solid hitting pitch when the new ball showed a little movement, but it didn’t stay long. It just took one man to bat through for Saurashtra, and that person was the veteran hitter Jackson. He improved in the game that counted the most after having a bad season thus far.

Although Maharashtra put up a respectable fightback to extend the game, the outcome was never truly in doubt thanks to his century-opening stand with Harvik Desai. There was a ray of hope for Maharashtra when Vasavada and Mankad fell quickly one after the other, but it only took one more collaboration. Jackson had the perfect backing from Chirag Jani, who earlier had scored a hat-trick and added to his exploits with a composed finisher’s hit. With the exception of Mukesh and Ostwal, the bowlers for Maharashtra had trouble maintaining pressure.

Vijay Hazare Finals: Maharashtra Sub Par 1st Innings Score

Maharashtra made a respectable comeback, but it was not enough to give them the victory. After 25 overs, they had a score of 75/2 and added 170+ in the next 25. It may have been even higher if Ruturaj Gaikwad stayed in the game and batted. The opener took a little to get going and needed 96 balls to achieve his first 50. However, it took just 29 balls for him to score his second 50, and he was looking dangerously in touch before being run out. After he left, Maharashtra lost its momentum and finished with a below-par score of 248.

Player of The Match– Sheldon Jackson

Player of The Series- Ruturaj Gaikwad

Matched Content Ad