Transformation of Cricket World Cup

Transformation of Cricket World Cup
Transformation of Cricket World Cup
Article top

The ICC world cup trophy was first given in 1999 before this different trophy are Sponsored by a different organization. The 1st three world cup is sponsored by Prudential plc for the years 1975,1979 and 1983. All the three world cups are similar, and the series is named as Prudential Cup.

The fourth world cup in 1987 is sponsored by Reliance Industries and its names as Reliance World Cup. The fifth world cup in the year 1992 is sponsored by Benson and Hedges and it named as Benson and Hedges Cup.

The sixth world cup in 1996 is sponsored by Wills, an ITC brand and its names as Benson and Wills World Cup. Till 1996 Cricket world cup trophies have different sponsors so it had different forms of the world cup.

After 1996 International Cricket Council decided to award its own trophy which in 1999 the first permanent prize for Cricket world cup is awarded. The trophy was designed in London by Garrard & Co.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here