Top 5 Cricketers Who Won An ICC Trophy In Their Last Game

Cricketers Who Won An ICC Trophy In Their Last Game
Image Source-

We have seen many cricketers who plan to retire post an ICC event. The glittering multi-national trophy is an incentive for many cricketers. They desire to get their hands on the trophy one last time. There have been few cricketers who have been lucky on that front. They could retire on a high winning the ICC event and signing off gloriously. Here are Cricketers Who Won An ICC Trophy In Their Last Game

Let’s look at Top 5 Cricketers Who Won An ICC Trophy In Their Last Game:

#5 BJ Watling

Players Who Won An ICC Trophy In Their Last International Appearance. BJ Watling signed off his Test career on a glorious high. He was part of New Zealand’s team that won the inaugural WTC championship. Watling arguably has been New Zealand’s greatest-ever wicket-keeper in the Test format.

He has played many brave knocks for his country. Watling has been the cornerstone on which New Zealand almost always built their innings. He farmed the strike beautifully with the tail and pushed the score well beyond par on most occasions. He was given a fitting tribute by the black caps as they won the WTC finals for their man who played the game selflessly.

#4 Brad Haddin

Brad Haddin spent most of his career under the shadows of Adam Gilchrist. He took over the mantle in 2008 post-Gilchrist’s retirement. Haddin had big boots to fill as Gilchrist was the one who revolutionized the role of a wicket-keeper.

He did fairly well to his credit. Haddin was a keeper first and a batsman later. He played a stellar role in Australia’s famous 5-0 Ashes whitewash in 2013-14. Haddin signed off on a fantastic note in 2015 post winning the World Cup.

#3 Michael Clarke

Michael Clarke was the natural successor to Ricky Ponting. He made his Test debut in sensational fashion scoring 151 against India in Bengaluru in 2004. Clarke was phenomenal across formats (Tests and ODIs). He had a sparkling career filled with terrific highs.

Clarke had pre-decided that he will retire from the ODI format post the 2015 World Cup. He was keen to leave the ODI game on a high. His team didn’t let him down. They comfortably outplayed New Zealand in the 2015 World Cup finals. Clarke led the team to the World Cup win and happily retired from ODI cricket.

#2 Imran Khan

Imran Khan’s Pakistan was called the cornered tigers in the 1992 World Cup. They were in a helpless position midway into the tournament. But the inspirational captain that Khan was turned around the tide for his side. The team slowly started building on wins and qualified for the finals.

They won a thrilling game of cricket against England to win their maiden World Cup. Khan lifting the trophy stated that he was retiring from the game. He wanted to focus on building healthcare in his country. Khan was an iconic leader and deservedly walked off with a World Cup medal.

#1 Glenn McGrath

Glenn McGrath is undoubtedly one of the best bowlers of all time. He bowled military medium pace but his discipline was immaculate. McGrath wonderfully adapted to different formats. He picked 563 wickets in Tests and 381 wickets in ODIs. McGrath had a stellar average of 22 in ODIs and a brilliant strike rate of 34.

He had announced much before the commencement of the 2007 ODI World Cup that this will be the last time he will feature in ODIs. McGrath put on a wonderful show picking up 26 wickets. He was even awarded the Man of the Series for his spectacular show. His skillset proved that he had many years still left in him but he left the stage on a brilliant high. McGrath’s exploits helped Australia win their 3rd straight World Cup.

Matched Content Ad