The legendary Captains of Team India: Rohit Sharma narrowly misses to join the elite list

The Legendary Captains of Team India
Article top

Rohit Sharma joins elite list, Is Rohit Sharma best captain of India?, Who is best among Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma?, The Legendary Captains of Team India, Rohit Sharma captaincy record

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

The Legendary Captains of Team India

India have managed to 6 ICC Trophies so far, with the latest one adding into the list is the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.  

It is India’s third ODI World, second-best after Australia’s 6. There have been plenty of captains, who have taken the roles of captaining the Indian side for the past 48 years, but only 4 of them managed to provide India the prestigious ICC trophies. 

Download: Stumpsandbails Fantasy Cricket App 

Kapil Dev  

Known as ‘Haryana Hurricane’ Kapil Dev was appointed as the skipper of team India when he was just 23 years of age in 1982.  

The very next year India entered the 1983 World Cup as the underdogs, India were in trouble in the tournament after losing 2 straight games, and a loss against Zimbabwe may have ended their run, that was the game, where world saw the power of Hurricane.  

India lost their 5 wickets at the score of 17 while batting first, and were in danger of exiting from World Cup, then came Kapil Dev on crease and led the side from front. Dev completely changed the course of the game with a splendid 175 not out knock off 138 balls. 

India won that game, and also gained the needed confidence. Kapil’s knock and commitment during the World Cup made India a team tough to beat then, which ultimately made India the winner of the 1983 World Cup.  

Sourav Ganguly  

Ganguly was named as the skipper of team India in 2000 when the regular skipper Sachin Tendulkar stepped down from the position due to his health reasons.  

In his very first year of his captaincy, India reached the Knockout Cup finals. Ganguly made the team believe that India is not only a strong team on their soil but can win in overseas too.  

He won the 2002 Champions Trophy under Ganguly’s captaincy, and no one can ever forget his aggressive t-shirt celebration after India beating England by 2 wickets in the NatWest series final at home of cricket, Lord’s.  

India played the finals of the World Cup 2003 under Sourav Ganguly.  

Follow Stumps and Bails for frequent cricket predictions

MS Dhoni  

It was the most crucial time for team India, as the Indian side now got the recognition of a strong side, but they need to have solid captain after Sourav Ganguly.  

When every was seeing Yuvraj Singh or Virender Sehwag as the contender for captain, the selector took the other way and made MS Dhoni, the captain.  

The decision didn’t go well with some major cricket pundits, as they were not in favour of a less experienced player to lead India, especially when the team was about to play the big tournament, first-ever T20 World Cup.  

But who would have thought that this man will change the Indian Cricket forever, MS Dhoni not only led India to victory in the 2007 T20 World Cup, made the Indian side winner of the Commonwealth series in Australia in 2008.  

India received the test mace in 2010 and 2011 and won the ODI World Cup in 2011 after the long wait of 28 years. 

Not just that, India went on to win the 2013 Champions Trophy, that made Dhoni the only captain in the world to win all ICC trophies.   

Dhoni’s India changed the position of India in World Cricket, and India then entered all the ICC tournaments as favourites. India won 2 Asia Cup title as well under Dhoni.  

Rohit Sharma  

One of India’s greatest batters, Virat Kohli’s sudden stepping down decision from captaincy, gave another senior team member Rohit Sharma a chance to lead the side.  

Rohit Sharma’s first big assignment came during the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, where India reached the semis. After a disappointing loss in the semis, the selectors believed in him, and India reached the finals of the World Test Championship second time in a row but faced a disappointment this time too.  

Sharma, the winner of 5 IPL trophies, went on to record a whopping 597 runs in 11 games at a strike rate nearing 126 in the World Cup 2023, led India to the finals of the World Cup, but a heartbreaking loss against Australia in the finals saw Sharma missed the chance to join the elite list of legendary Indian Captains. 

Matched Content Ad