Karnataka’s Fortress Awaits The Undefeated Tamil Nadu

The Karnataka's Fortress Awaits The Undefeated Tamil Nadu
The Karnataka's Fortress Awaits The Undefeated Tamil Nadu
Article top

On Wednesday, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu won their respective semi-finals to meet each other in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 final summit game.

While here Karnataka thrashed Chhattisgarh with nine wickets at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru at Just Cricket Academy (JCA) Ground, Tamil Nadu registered a five-wicket victory over Gujarat in the rain-affected low-scoring game.

Chasing Chhattisgarh’s 224-run target, Karnataka got off to a fine start as openers KL Rahul and Devdutt Padikkal shared a 155-run partnership to put their side in the driver’s seat for the first wicket.

Although Rahul played an unbeaten 88-run knock before he got out, Padikkal made 92 runs after which India’s opener Mayank Agarwal played an unbeaten 33-ball 44-run cameo to help Karnataka win in just 40 overs.

Earlier being asked to bat first, Chhattisgarh’s Amandeep Khare’s 78 and Sumit Ruikar’s 40 took their side to a moderate total in 49.4 overs before they were bowled out. For Karnataka, medium-pacer V Koushik scalped four wickets.

It should be a keenly contested game of cricket. Since both teams have never lost a Vijay Hazare Trophy final, it adds an extra element of intrigue.

Probable XI’s:

Karnataka Probable XI:

Mayank Agarwal, Lokesh Rahul(w), Devdutt Padikkal, Manish Pandey(c), Karun Nair, Rohan Kadam, Praveen Dubey, Krishnappa Gowtham, Abhimanyu Mithun, V Koushik, Ronit More

Tamil Nadu Probable XI:

Abhinav Mukund, Murali Vijay, Baba Aparajith, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Washington Sundar, Shahrukh Khan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Krishnamoorthy Vignesh, T Natarajan

The final of the tournament will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Friday.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here