Team India’s Schedule For The WTC-2nd Cycle

India WTC 2nd Cycle Schedule
Image Source:
Article top

View below topics in this post

Team India conquered the World Test Championship points table for two years, putting up some incredible performances in the game’s purest form. Unfortunately, the Indian team did not perform well in the World Test Championship final, and so as a result, they finished as runners-up. Lets look at India WTC 2nd Cycle Schedule. 

India WTC 2nd Cycle Schedule

In the finals, India lost by 8 wickets versus New Zealand, which was devastating. Therefore, it is now time for the team to put the past behind them and focus on the upcoming WTC cycle, which will run from July 2021 through 2023. As per India’s Future Tour Programmes (FTP) for 2021-23, the team will play in 6 Test series, 3 at home, and the remainder on the tour.

India will begin their 2nd World Test Championship (WTC) campaign with a five-match Test tour of England. From 04 August through 14 September, the Test series will be contested.

India tour of England 2021

England vs India:


04-08: 1st Test, Trent Bridge

12-16: 2nd Test, Lord’s

25-29: 3rd Test, Headingley


02-06: 4th Test, Kennington Oval

10-14: 5th Test, Old Trafford

Following the England series, India will get an opportunity to avenge their defeat in the WTC final. In November 2021, New Zealand will visit India for a two-match Test series. The series will most likely be staged following the T20 World Cup, however, the schedule has yet to be announced.

Following the New Zealand Test series, Kohli and his teammates will face South Africa in a three-match Test series. In December 2021 and January 2022, India and South Africa will play each other in a series. The squad will host Sri Lanka for 3 Test matches in early 2022. This will be the World Test Championship’s 2nd home series.

In the 2nd part of 2022, the 3rd home series will be against Australia. In a four-match Test series, the 2 sides will compete for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Notably, India has won the past two Border-Gavaskar Trophies, which were held in Australia.

India will play Bangladesh in a two-match Test series to conclude their league stage of the WTC’s 2nd cycle.

Also read: We Can Improve Our Game To Give Joe Root More Support: Buttler

Matched Content Ad