T20 World Cup Winners List Year Wise | stumpsandbails

Who won the first T20 World Cup?
Who won the first T20 World Cup?

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most popular and much-awaited events in the cricketing universe. It has grabbed all the attention in the inaugural edition itself – Where we have witnessed a nail-biting final between India vs Pakistan.

From then on all the cricketing fans will be waiting for the upcoming editions. And this year we will witness the mega event of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE. Initially, the tournament was scheduled to play in India but due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, they had to shift it to UAE.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will be held in Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground, from 17 October to 14 November 2021.

Here is the list of T20 World Cup Winners Year Wise (2007-2021):

WinnerRunner upYear/Host
1. IndiaPakistan2007/South Africa
2. PakistanSri Lanka2009/England
3. EnglandAustralia2010/ West Indies
4. West IndiesSri Lanka2012/Sri Lanka
5. Sri LankaIndia2014/Bangladesh
6. West IndiesEngland2016/India
7. Postponed due to COVID-19 pandemicPostponed due to COVID-19 pandemic2020/Australia
8. TBDTBD2021/UAE and Oman
9. TBDTBD2022/Australia

Facts about List of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners

  • First Edition: 2007
  • First Winner: India
  • First Runner-up: Pakistan
  • Current champion: West Indies (2nd title)
  • Most successful Team:  West Indies (2 titles)
  • Administrator: International Cricket Council (ICC)
  • Format: Twenty20 International
  • Number of teams: 16

In the above list, you can clearly see that West Indies are the most successful team that has won two ICC Men’s T20 World cups in 2012 and 2016. And Sri Lanka has played three finals of the T20 world cup, out of them they have won a final and ended as runner-ups in the other two finals.

And you will be shocked to see that Australia has not won a single ICC T20 Cricket WC so far – while this team has won 5 ICC Cricket World Cups of 50 over format.

Team India has won the first edition of the T20 WC, in which they have defeated their arch-rivals Pakistan in the finals by 5 runs.

Matched Content Ad