T20 World Cup: Daryl Mitchell Propels New Zealand To The Finals

James Neesham
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

New Zealand has successfully eliminated England from the T20 World Cup 2021. Kane Williamson and team thrashed the Three Lions by 5 wickets on Wednesday at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. England were in complete control of the match with 4 overs remaining. The Black Caps, on the other hand, kept their composure and crossed the line with 6 balls to play. Here is New Zealand vs England Match Highlights.

New Zealand vs England Match Highlights

View below topics in this post

England got off to a good beginning since being placed in to bat first, amassing 40 runs just on the powerplay. Despite scoring 13, Jonny Bairstow couldn’t get momentum and was removed by Adam Milne. Ish Sodhi struck the body blow after dismissing Jos Buttler, who smashed 4 fours in his 24-ball 29. From then, Dawid Malan and Moeen Ali put on a good 63-run 3rd wicket partnership.

Malan proceeded on to score 41 runs from 30 deliveries before surrendering to Tim Southee. Liam Livingstone struck a 10-ball 17, however, his spell in the middle was brought to an end by James Neesham. Moeen, on the other hand, batted till the end and finished undefeated on 51 off 37 with 3 fours and 2 sixes. The England reached 166 mark. For the Kiwis, Milne, Southee, Sodhi, and James Neesham each took 1 wicket.



New Zealand got off to a tough start when Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson failed to reach double figures. Chris Woakes struck out both hitters and put the Black Caps in to worry. Following that, Daryl Mitchell and Devon Conway ensured that their side finished the powerplay at 36 for 2. The pair put up an 82-run stand which kept the Kiwis out of trouble to a certain point.

With a score of 46, Conway was beginning to look dangerous, before Livingstone bagged him. Soon after, the threatening Glenn Phillips was also dismissed by Livingstone. New Zealand was under pressure since they required 60 runs off the final 5 overs. Adil Rashid called for the removal of Neesham after he struck a 10-ball 26. Mitchell’s undefeated 48-ball 73, which included 4 fours and 4 sixes, was enough to place New Zealand to the finals.

Here are the Stumpsandbails experts views on Dream 11

J Buttler, J Bairstow, D Mitchell, M Ali, J Neesham, A Rashid, I Sodhi, and A Milne all contributed admirably to earn the points. T Boult has gone wicketless, while M Guptill fell short in a quick spell. S Billings was not given an opportunity to demonstrate his efforts.

Also read: They Leave It To Each Other.. They Leave The Cup?

Matched Content Ad