Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022: All Groups Updates

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022
Image Source:
Article top

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022: There is a lot of T20 cricket going on. And even though there are much more interesting matches at a bigger level, there is also a very important tournament that is going on. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, is India’s Premium talent machine from where we see stars growing and making their mark in the IPL or at a higher level.

What is Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy?

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) hosts the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, a domestic T-20 cricket competition in India that features teams from the Ranji Trophy. It bears Syed Mushtaq Ali’s name, a former test cricketer for India. Tamil Nadu won the debut season of this tournament in 2006–2007, led by Dinesh Karthik as captain. Rohit Sharma also struck the first T20 century by an Indian team ever during that season.

Format of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The 38 teams are split up into one Plate group with eight teams and five Elite groups, A, B, C, D, and E, each with six teams. No matter how many teams are in a group, each team will play a total of five league games, with all 38 teams playing the same amount of games. The top six teams from each group—five elite teams and one plate team—will advance to the knockout round. where they will join the second-place teams from the five elite groups to form a total of eight teams.

Let’s Check Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy Updates Till now

Elite A

Hoarded by big teams, Elite A houses Mumbai, Vidharbha, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Railways, Rajasthan, Assam, and Mizoram. Mumbai has won all of their matches which is 5 and top the group. They are follow by Vidharbha with 4 wins and Madhya Pradesh with

Elite B

Elite B has biggies like Punjab, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Hyderabad, Tripura, Manipur, and Puducherry. The group has Delhi on the top with 4 wins. Punjab is at spot 2 with 4 wins too, but their run rate is lower than Delhi’s. At third we have Uttar Pradesh with 3 wins and 2 losses.

Elite C

Group C is home to Karnataka, Haryana, Services, Maharashtra, Kerala, Meghalaya, Jammu, and Arunachal Pradesh. This group has very tough competition going on. All the top 3 teams have won 4 matches and lost only 1. In the first position, we have Karnataka followed by Haryana and Services. The question is only about the run rate and it will be interesting to see how the next 2 matches flare out. It is going to be tough competition.

Elite D

In Elite D, the topper is Saurashtra followed by Baroda and Himachal Pradesh. The next few teams in the group are Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Bihar, and Nagaland. Teams in the group have played 4 matches each. Saurashtra has won 3 and is placed first. Baroda and Himachal have both won 2 and lost 2 matches.

Elite E

The last elite group has played 4 matches each till now. All the teams that include, Chattisgarh, Bengal, Chandigarh, Tamil Nadu, Odisha, Jharkhand, and Sikkim are place in the group. Bengal is at the top with 3 wins and one match with no result. Chhattisgarh is at 2nd with the same result but has a lesser run rate. Tamil Nadu is in 3rd position.

Matched Content Ad