Suryakumar Yadav available to play in upcoming Ranji Trophy season

T20I Mens Player of the Year Award 2022
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Indian batter Suryakumar Yadav will be available to play for Mumbai in the forthcoming Ranji Trophy 2022-23 starting on December 20, according to a report by ESPNcricinfo.

The star T20I batsman will be ready for the second-round match against Hyderabad after not taking part in the current ODI series against Bangladesh. Ajinkya Rahane, a former Indian Test player, will captain the team in the 2023 Ranji season.

This year in T20Is, Suryakumar has been in excellent form. He has amassed 1,164 runs at an average of 46.56 in 31 T20I games this year, including two centuries, nine fifties, and the highest score of 117. He has scored the most runs in T20Is this season.

While overall, he has struck 1408 runs in 42 matches at a whopping average of 44.97, including 2 centuries and 12 half-centuries. He sustained an impressive strike rate of over 180 in the process.

Suryakumar Yadav in ODIs 

However, the batter has struggled to carry over his T20I success into ODIs. Only one half-century and 260 runs, at an average of 26.00, scored by him in 13 ODIs this year.

Suryakumar, in particular, has an outstanding first-class cricket record. He has scored 5,326 runs at an average of 44.01 in 77 games and 129 innings. His best solo score was 200, and he has recorded 14 centuries and 26 half-centuries.

In addition to Tushar Deshpande, Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and others are listed in the roster of 17 for their team’s opening match against Andhra Pradesh. Sarfaraz’s brother Musheer Khan, who was part during the knockouts last season, has also been chosen.

Dhawal Kulkarni, and Shivam Dube not chosen since they have yet to fully heal from the injuries they sustained during the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Deshpande, joined by left-armer Royston Dias and pacer Mohit Awasthi, will be in charge of the pace attack.

From December 13 on, the prestigious tournament’s 2022–23 season will begin with the game between Haryana and Himachal Pradesh.

Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Armaan Jaffer, Sarfaraz Khan, Suved Parkar, Hardik Tamore, Prasad Pawar, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi, Siddharth Raut, Roystan Dias, Suryansh Shedge, Shashank Attarde, Musheer Khan.

Suryakumar Yadav during New Zealand tour 

In the second T20I of the three-match series last month at Mount Maunganui’s Bay Oval, Suryakumar Yadav’s outstanding century enabled Team India to thrash Kane Williamson’s New Zealand.

In the series’ second-to-last game, Team India easily defeated the Black Caps despite being without its star players Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Virat Kohli. Suryakumar outperformed Kohli while setting an incredible record in the second T20I at Bay Oval.

In the absence of star cricketer Kohli, captain Rohit, and vice-captain KL Rahul, the Men in Blue’s batting lineup was led by star batter Suryakumar.

As India posted a difficult total of 191-6 in 20 overs, the in-form batsman slammed his second T20I century. Suryakumar named the Player of the Match for his batting master class as he smashed unbeaten 111 off 51 balls.

Matched Content Ad