Centurion Suryakumar Yadav surpasses Virat Kohli to claim unique T20I record

Suryakumar overtakes Virat Kohli
Image Source: BCCI
Article top

Suryakumar overtakes Virat Kohli

Suryakumar overtakes Virat Kohli: Suryakumar Yadav’s outstanding century helped Team India to crush Kane Williamson’s New Zealand in the second T20I of the three-match series on Sunday at Mount Maunganui’s Bay Oval.

Team India playing without their star players Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli, defeated the Black Caps in the series’ penultimate match with ease. Suryakumar outperformed Kohli in the process to set a stunning mark in the second T20I at Bay Oval.

The in-form batter slammed his 2nd T20I century as India posted a challenging total of 191-6 in 20 overs. Suryakumar remained unbeaten on 111 off 51 balls and the star batter was named the Player of the Match for his batting master class.

As India produced a tough total of 191-6 in 20 overs, the in-form batsman smashed his second T20I century. Suryakumar was selected the Player of the Match for his batting master class as he was unbeaten at 111 off 51 balls.

Suryakumar receives most player of the match awards than any other Indian player

Yadav has, interestingly, won Player of the Match honours in the shortest format seven times. The 360 degree player has received more Player of the Match awards than any other Indian player.

On Sunday, the heartthrob of India overtook Kohli to tie Sikandar Raja’s record for the most Player of the Match honours (seven) in T20 international cricket. In T20Is, the special honour has been given six times, twice to Dinesh Nakrani of Uganda and once to former Indian captain Kohli.

“The plan was clear when I went into bat. At the 12th/13th over, we thought about batting deep and getting around 170-175 was a par score. Secret (behind his freak shots) is about the intent and you need to enjoy yourself. It’s also about the work you do in the practice sessions. It’s a great feeling coming here, having a full game and going 1-0 in the series feels good. I feel that I didn’t think too much about what was happening. Just had my game plan and it worked well. Fantastic crowd here,” he said in the post-match presentation ceremony.

Suryakumar equals Rohit Sharma’s record

Suryakumar equalled Rohit Sharma’s record of scoring two hundred in the shortest format in the same year by scoring the century that won the match in the second T20I on Sunday. The first Indian player to accomplish this unique achievement in T20Is was Rohit in 2018.

Surya is just unstoppable in the shortest format of the game since his debut last year.

He has so far smashed 1395 runs in just 41 games with an impressive average of 45.00. He struck two centuries and twelve half-centuries in this period. Surya maintained a whopping strike rate of over 180 in the process.

He will be next seen in action in the third T20I against New Zealand on Tuesday. While he is also part of team India in the upcoming 3-match series versus New Zealand, starting November 25.

Matched Content Ad