Sri Lanka Announces 15-Man Team For 2021 T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket Team
Image Source:
Article top

The T20 World Cup 2021 is slated to begin on October 17 in the UAE, and teams have started announcing their squads one by one. In view of recent developments, Sri Lanka has announced their 15-man team for the T20 World Cup in 2021. Akila Dananjaya, on the other hand, has been moved to the travelling reserves.

Dasun Shanaka is named as the captain of Lanka’s 15-man team, which also includes Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, and others. One of the unexpected selections in the team is Maheesh Theekshana, a 21-year-old off-spinner. His top-class bowling in the series versus South Africa caught the eye of selectors.

It should be mentioned that Lanka is presently playing a white-ball series versus South Africa, and their success in the T20I series versus South Africa would be crucial. Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, and others are the key players to watch in the T20 World Cup for Sri Lanka. The return of Dinesh Chandimal is also considered to be a key factor in Sri Lanka’s team selection.


In July, Sri Lanka faced India in a white-ball series. Despite losing the ODI series versus India, they went on to put up a strong showing in T20Is. Hasaranga was named player of the match and will be a crucial component for them in the UAE, where the fast wickets would help spinners.

Both Hasaranga and Chameera will also feature alongside RCB in the UAE leg of the IPL 2021, which will be considered as good practice for them as they prepare for the high-profile event. The travelling backups for the tournament are Lahiru Kumara, Pulina Tharanga, Binura Fernando, and Akila Dananjaya.


Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama.

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Pulina Tharanga, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya.

Matched Content Ad