SLC Includes 5 More Additional Players To Lanka’s T20-WC Squad

Sri Lanka T20 Squad Against India
Image Source:
Article top

Sri Lanka has added five significant signings to its team for the forthcoming T20-WC (world cup) 2021, in what could be described as big news. Ramesh Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, and Lakshan Sandakan, have been included in the lineup for the mega event. In terms of players departing, all-rounder Lahiru Madushanka was picked to the initial team. Unfortunately, owing to an injury, he was unable to participate.

Minod Bhanuka, as well as batsmen Ramesh Mendis and Pathum Nissanka, played in the home series versus South Africa. Both resurfaced, meanwhile, with unimpressive efforts and, as a result, were not included in the previously chosen team. Ashen Bandara last appeared for Sri Lanka in the series victory over India, whereas Lakshan Sandakan last appeared for the national team in July in England.

SLC has shown confidence in the new inclusions it would be curious to watch During T20-WC.

As a result, the new inclusions have never been in particularly thrilling form recently. Yet, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has shown confidence in them, and it would be curious to watch how they execute. With the inclusion of additional players, Sri Lanka’s team now consists of 23 players. Dasun Shanka, an all-rounder, will captain the team, and he will have a task ahead of him. It should also be scheduled that the Sri Lankan team will depart for Oman on 03′ October 2021.


Furthermore, before beginning their campaign, Sri Lanka will play two T20Is versus hosts Oman. It will, certainly, provide them with an excellent chance for preparing. In terms of their campaign in the worldwide tournament, they will face Namibia on 18th October.  Because Sri Lanka is not one among the top 8 teams, they will have to go beyond the qualifying level in order to compete in the Super 12.

The Sri Lankan team’s standards are low because they haven’t performed well recently. Dhananjaya De Silva and Kusal Perara, on the other hand, are experienced performers of this format and would be eager to do well.

Sri Lanka Team for ICC T20-WC 2021:

Dasun Shanaka (C), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Maheesh Theekshana, Minod Bhanuka, Ramesh Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Lakshan Sandakan, Ashen Bandara.

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga.

Matched Content Ad