Sehwag, Darren Sammy, Misbah-ul-Haq Named As Captains In Legends League Cricket

Legends League Cricket
Image Source:
Article top

Virender Sehwag, Darren Sammy, and Misbah Ul Haq will captain their respective teams in the  Legends League Cricket (LLC), which begins on 20th January in Muscat Cricket Stadium, Oman.

Former destructive Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag, who was led the Delhi Capitals (DC) and Kings XI Punjab in the IPL, will be the captain of the Indian Maharaja Team. As a prominent Indian cricketer, Sehwag brings a wealth of knowledge to the side, and his tactics will inspire the Indian Maharaja to perform admirably in the LLC T20 competition.

Mohd. Kaif has been named as deputy for Sehwag. John Buchanan has also been chosen as coach by the Indian Maharaja. John has a solid track record as an Australian Team coach earlier. He was also the coach for the Kolkata Team (KKR) at the beginning of the IPL.

Former Pakistan cricketer, Misbah Ul Haq, will lead the Asia Lions squad in the LLC T20 tournament. With players from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan like Shahid Afridi, Mohd. Hafiz,  Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Sanath Jayasurya, T Dilshan, Habibul Bashar, and Chaminda Vaas, the Asia Lions appear to be far more powerful than the other teams. Tillakaratne Dilshan has been named vice-captain for Asia Lions. Whereas the captain of the 1996 ICC World Cup-winning team, Arjuna Ranatunga, will be the coach for Asia Lions.

Former West Indies captain, Darren Sammy, will lead the World Giants. Sammy led the St. Lucia Zouks in the Caribbean Primer League (CPL). Sammy includes world-class players like Australian bowler Brett Lee, former New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori, English batter Kevin Pietersen, South Africa bowler Imran Tahir, and so many others. South African batter Jonty Rhodes will serve as the World Giants Team’s mentor.

I am sure they will show their extra skills for their teams: Ravi Shastri

Ravi Shastri, Commissioner of the LLC T20 Tournament: “I can’t wait to work closely with LLC T20 tournament. It’s loved to see all the super stars comes together and fighting for the inaugural title of the league. This players are retired but they still very passionate about the cricket. I am sure they will show their extra skills for their teams.”

“I am excited to see how everyone is involving together and use their hundred percent to win the trophy for their team. It’s going to be super thrilling experience for all cricket fans in Oman and all across the globe, said Raman Raheja, CEO of LLC T20 league.

Former players from India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Australia, and England, among other cricket countries, will compete in the 1st season of Howzat LLC, split into 3 sides featuring India, Asia, and the Rest of the World (World Giants). Cricket spectators all over the globe will get to watch the Legends Cricket battle at their finest.

Matched Content Ad