Sangakkara Announced as MCC President

Article top

The former Sri Lanka Captain Kumar Sangakkara has been announced as the president of Marylebone Cricket Club. He will take up the responsibility from OCT 1st 2019. And he is the first Non-British President of MCC.

The current working president Anthony Wreford has announced his name in MCC Annual General Meeting at Lord’s London.

Sangakkara has been the member of the club since 2012. His term starts from October 2019 and ends on September 2020.

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) is the oldest cricket club in the world. It was established in 1787 and based since 1814 at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

“It is a huge honour to be named the next President of MCC and it is a role that I am thoroughly looking forward. For me, MCC is the greatest cricket club in the world, with its global reach and continued progress for cricket on and off the pitch. The year 2020 is going to be yet another significant one in cricket, especially at Lord’s, and I am thrilled that I am going to be able to play a part in supporting its future as President of MCC.” – Kumar Sangakkara

“As MCC looks to broaden both our horizons and international reputation, I’m delighted that Kumar has accepted the invitation, which he did in January this year, to be the next President of MCC. He is an outstanding individual both on and off the field and will make a huge contribution to the Club. In a World Cup and Ashes year, he will also have a significant role to play as President Designate.” – Anthony Wreford Current MCC President.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here