Ricky Ponting Names Only 1 Indian Player In His Test Team Of The Decade

Ricky Ponting's Declared One Indian Cricketer in His Test Team Of The Decade
Image Source: indiatv.com

View below topics in this post

Former Australian skipper, Ricky Ponting, has declared his Test team of this decade. In Ponting’s team, there are 4 English Players and 1 Indian player. The Indian is none other than Virat Kohli. Team India had a very marvelous decade this year among all the formats of the cricket, including in the ICC ODI World Cup where they lost in the semi-finals. Team Blue has successfully replaced its team with some good players when the legendary cricketers retired from the initial stage to the middle stage of the decade.

Now, the Indian Cricket Team is among the most domineering and competitive teams in the world which was made possible because of the captaincy of Virat Kohli. Team India is dominating the present scenario in Test cricket and is leading ICC Test Championship rankings.

Virat Kohli In Test Team Of The Decade:

The former Australian skipper, Ricky Ponting, does not believe that there can be any other good performer or player in the Indian Cricket Team other than Virat Kohli who can contest for his Test team of the decade.

He has only considered the Indian Skipper, Virat Kohli, in his best Test team of the decade, Ponting. It can be contended as to why no other Indian cricketer except Virat Kohli has been included in this Test team decade.

If we look at the opening batsmen, they are the Alastair Cook and David Warner. They are followed by Kane Williamson and Steve Smith. Virat Kohli, who has scored more runs than any other cricketer in this decade is placed at number 5. He will also be the captain of this side.

The Former Team Sri-Lanka Skipper, Kumar Sangakkara, who was an outstanding performer, will now have his gloves back and will be seen as the wicket-keeper batsman. Ben Stokes grabs the place as the all-rounder in the team.

Despite having a strong bowling unit in these decades, no Indian bowler got a place in the Test team of the decade.

Ricky Ponting’s Test squad of the Decade:

Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Virat Kohli (C), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, Nathan Lyon, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here