Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23: All Groups Updates (So far)

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23
Image Source: BCCI
Article top
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23 season

It was a day of big scores and big wins at the Vijay Hazare Trophy today. Post halfway mark where almost all teams have played 5 matches, the playoffs are coming towards a conclusion and the action is in full swing. Let us look into Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23 updates.

Records Broken at Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23

We finally saw a record that we were waiting for a long time. We saw an official record of a team scoring the highest ever List A total. The Tamil Nadu state team scored 506 runs in 50 overs. The highest run-scorer for the team was N Jagadeesan who scored the highest individual score in One Day cricket of 277 in 141 balls.

In answer to the opposition, Arunachal Pradesh could only score 71 runs. This made Tamil Nadu win by a huge margin of 435 runs which is the biggest-ever win margin for any team in One day cricket.

Jagadeesan became the first player to accomplish this feat in List A cricket with his fifth consecutive century. The opening partnership of Jagadeesan and Sai Sudarshan totaled 416 runs, the greatest total on any wicket in List A cricket.

Team status at the end of 5 matches

Elite Group A

The Elite Group A has teams: Saurashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Tripura, and Manipur

In this group, Saurashtra is at the top with 4 wins and only 1 loss, and 16 points followed by Chandigarh with the same stats. At third, we have Hyderabad with 3 wins and 2 losses with 12 points. At the bottom of the group is Manipur. The team lost all its matches and has 0 points.

Elite Group B

The Elite Group B has teams: Rajasthan, Karnataka, Vidarbha, Jharkhand, Delhi, Assam, Meghalaya, Sikkim

In this group, the surprise topper is Assam which has won 4 out of 5 matches. The team has 16 points. Karnataka is at second position with the same stats but a slightly lower NRR. At third is Jharkhand which has also won 4 matches but has an even lower run rate. At the bottom of the group are Meghalaya and Sikkim that have not won any of their matches yet.

Elite Group C

The Elite Group C has teams Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Haryana, Bihar, Arunachal Pradesh

In this group, the table toppers are Tamil Nadu which has won all its matches played so far. The team had one match with no result and thus has 22 points. They are leading by a great margin. In the second and third positions are Andhra Pradesh and Haryana. Both teams have won 3 of their 5 matches and have incurred 2 losses.

Elite Group D

The Elite Group D has teams Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Odisha, Baroda, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Nagaland

Punjab leads the group with 4 out of 4 wins and 16 points. By surprise, they are followed by Jammu and Kashmir who are in the second position with 4 wins and 1 loss and slightly lower NRR. Far behind at third is Uttarakhand with 2 wins and 2 losses and 8 points. At the bottom is Nagaland with 4 out of 4 losses and 0 points.

Elite Group E

The last is Elite Group E which has teams Maharashtra, Services, Bengal, Pondicherry, Railways, Mumbai, Mizoram

The group is topped by Maharashtra with 4 wins in 4 matches. They are followed by Railways with 3 wins in 5 matches. At third is Bengal with the same stats but a lower NRR. At the bottom of the group are Services and Mizoram. Services have only won 1 of their 4 matches while Mizoram has lost all of them.

That’s all the updates from Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23 season till now. We will keep you posted.

Matched Content Ad