Ranji Trophy Semifinals: Mumbai, MP Look Solid On Day 3

Ranji Trophy Semifinals Match Highlights
Image Source: Stumpsandbails
Article top

Ranji Trophy Semifinals are on roll and we have both the knockout matches taking place simultaneously. In Game 1 Mumbai is taking on Uttar Pradesh while in Game 2 Madhya Pradesh is taking on Bengal. Day 3 was as good as it could get we saw some great competitive cricket taking place. Let’s learn about how Ranji Trophy Semifinals Match Highlights Day 3 went.

Ranji Trophy Semifinals Match Highlights:



UP won the toss and elected to bowl first.
Stumps Day 3
Mumbai 393, 2nd innings 133/1
Uttar Pradesh 180 (54.3 Ov)

Uttar Pradesh began the day with a 60-run stand between Madhav Kaushik and Karan Sharma and did not lose a wicket in the opening hour. However, that was the only time they were involved in the contest. They fell short of 200 runs after losing five wickets for 43 runs. Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Avasthi, and Tanish Kotian each took three wickets for Mumbai, who were led by Shivam Mavi’s 55-ball 48.

Mumbai would be looking to accumulate more runs on day 4 and aim to bowl them out with a huge target. Uttar Pradesh will have a lot of work to do if they are to win the game from this situation.



M. Pradesh won the toss and chose to bat.
Stumps Day 3
Madhya Pradesh 341 & 2nd innings 163/2
Bengal 273 (89.2 Ov)

In the Bengal camp, the day began with a lot of hope and excitement. Manoj Tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed were on their way to becoming century players. The gap had been reduced to just over a hundred dollars, and they were certain that they could run Madhya Pradesh ragged.

They were handed a reality check 45 minutes into the day’s play, shortly after Tiwary reached his 29th first-class century. The lower order crumbled without much resistance, giving MP a comfortable 68-run lead.

There was a lesson for MP to be learned there. Karnataka had a 98-run lead last week but crumbled in a heap against UP, so a win was far from certain at the moment. They gradually built their second innings brick by brick, and are now in a position to impose terms.

Rajat Patidar, who did not play in the first innings, has made an unbroken 63 runs. This is his sixth season with a fifty-plus score, including a century. The captain, Aditya Shrivastava, is undefeated on 34, and MP has a 231-run lead with eight wickets in hand.

Matched Content Ad