Ranji Trophy 2022-23 schedule OUT NOW! Series to begin from 13 December

Ranji Trophy 2022-23 schedule
Image Source: Stumpsandbails.com
Article top

Ranji Trophy 2022-23 schedule: The 2022–23 domestic season of cricket in India will begin on Monday, according to the Board of Control for Cricket in India. During the season, which will start in the first week of September 2022 and end in the middle of March 2023, more than 1500 matches will be played. The commencement of a complete season, which also includes the Irani Cup’s comeback, will be signalled by the famous Duleep Trophy. Six zones (North, South, Central, West, East, and Northeast) will compete for the Duleep Trophy between the dates of 8 and 25 September.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be awarded after the two multi-day competitions. Three groups of eight teams and two groups of seven teams totaling 38 teams will compete in the two white-ball competitions.

“The Ranji Trophy, India’s premier domestic tournament, will have two categories; 1) Elite and 2) Plate. The Elite Group will comprise 32 teams and will have 4 groups of 8 teams in a home and away format with each team playing 7 matches in the league stage. The top two teams from each of the four groups will directly qualify for the quarterfinals,” In a formal announcement, BCCI stated.

The Plate Group will consist of 6 teams and 15 league matches. The top 4 teams will automatically advance to the semi-finals, while the worst two clubs will compete for fifth and sixth place. League games for the Plate League and Elite Group will both begin on December 13 and end on February 20 for the Plate League and January 29 for the Elite Group, respectively.

The Senior Women’s T20 Trophy, which begins on October 11 and runs through November 5, is the first event on the women’s calendar because the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is slated to take place in South Africa in February 2023. The Senior Women’s Interzonal T20 and T20 Challenger will come next. The Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy and the inter-zonal One-Day will thereafter switch to the 50-over format.

This season, the Senior Women’s Interzonal T20 and one-day competitions have both been reinstated. The Board will hold a U-16 girls’ competition for the first time in one day. The competition will provide the ladies early exposure to competitive cricket and facilitate their transfer to the U-19 level.

The first-ever ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup will be held in South Africa in January, hence the dates for the women’s U19 T20 Trophy and women’s U19 T20 Challenger have been moved up to 1 October through 7 November.

Matched Content Ad