Pujara, Pant and Bumrah To Play For Leicestershire Against India In Warm-Up Match

Pujara, Pant and Bumrah To Play For Leicestershire
Image Source: stumpsandbails.com
Article top

Some of India’s main players Pujara, Pant, and Bumrah To Play For Leicestershire Country Cricket Club in the warm-up match before the final big clash between India and England.

The 4-day warm-up game will start on Wednesday, June 23, at the Uptonsteel County Ground, Leicestershire, and India’s Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah along with Prasidh Krishna will be a part of Leicestershire’s team against the Rohit-led Indian side for the warm-up game.

“LCCC, BCCI, and the ECB have all agreed to allow the four players from the visiting camp to be part of the Running Foxes side, in order to allow all members of the traveling party to participate in the fixture (subject to fitness),” the club said in its statement.

“The match will be played with 13 players per side to provide further flexibility and help manage bowling workloads,” they further said.

The one-off test match between India and England will start on July 1. It will be the fifth test of the series that was played last year. Team India was 2-1 ahead when the last game of the 5-match test series at Old Trafford was canceled due to an increase in Covid-19 cases in the Indian camp and Edgbaston will now host the game from July 1.

Last year, when India played England, Virat Kohli served as the team’s captain and Ravi Shastri served as the head coach. A lot has changed from then as Virat gave up his captaincy and Rohit Sharma took over the captaincy of all formats.

After the T20 World Cup 2021, Ravi Shastri’s contract came to an end, and Rahul Dravid was named as Team India’s new head coach.

Notably, all-rounder Ben Stokes, who replaced Joe Root as England captain after Root was sacked, will lead England against India in the lone test. While Chris Silverwood was sacked as England’s Test coach last month, Brendon McCullum was named in his place.

In addition to the lone test, India will play England in 3-match ODI and 3-match T20 series during the tour.

India Squad for test – Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (vc), KS Bharat (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna


Matched Content Ad