PCB Announces 15-Man Team For The T20 World Cup-2021

Why Asim Kamal has criticized the Pakistan Cricket Board
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

The PCB has named a 15-man team for the next T20 World Cup, which begins on 17th October in Oman and the United Arab Emirates. Despite being qualified for the Super 12, the Men in Green will kick off their campaign versus India on 24th October in Dubai. They are in the same group alongside New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two more competing teams. Here is PCB Announces 15-Man Team For The T20 World Cup.

PCB Announces 15-Man Team For The T20 World Cup

In terms of the team, Babar Azam, as predicted, will captain the team, with Mohammad Rizwan serving as his deputy throughout the tournament. Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, and Shaheen Afridi were the strong candidates and have joined the team. Surprisingly, no reserve opener has been selected in the 15-man team, despite the fact that Fakhar Zaman is one of 3 bench players.

Sohaib Maqsood has joined the squad after consistently performing in the batting lineup during the 2nd leg of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in Abu Dhabi. Maqsood finished the season as the third-highest run-scorer, hitting 428 runs in 12 games with a strike rate of 156.78.

Sarfaraz Ahmed has also been dropped considering previous matches

Shoaib Malik, the experienced player, is absent from the team, despite not having participated for Pakistan in the event since September 2020. According to reports, captain Babar Azam was in preference of Malik because of his expertise, but it appears that the officials refused his proposal. Former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has also been dropped after spending most of the previous year so on the bench.

The team will also be backed by reserve players Shahnawaz Dhani and Usman Qadir. Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Azam Khan, and Haris Rauf are among the players who will go to the UAE the following month. Azam seems to be a surprise in the PSL and he also made his debut match and secured his spot for Pakistan from the England tour which was held previously this year.

In the next bilateral home series, the same side will take on New Zealand and England.

Pakistan’s squad for T20 World Cup:

Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Azam Khan, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood.

Bench Players: Shahnawaz Dhani, Usman Qadir, Fakhar Zaman.

Also read: Shastri Will Join The Indian Team Only After 2-Negative Tests

Matched Content Ad