Pakistan To Host Sri Lanka In A Bilateral Series

Article top

Pakistan is scheduled to host Sri Lanka for the bilateral series from September 27 to October 9. Both the teams are set to play three ODIs and the same number of T20Is.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and the Pakistan Cricket Board agreed to bring forward the limited-overs and pushed back the two Tests to December, which were originally set to take place in October. The one-dayers will be taking place at the National Stadium in Karachi while the T20 fixtures will be at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Pakistan is going to host the series at their hometown since a 2009 militant attack on Sri Lanka’s team bus in Lahore that left six security personnel and two civilians dead while six players were injured.

It was only in late 2017 when Sri Lanka played a solitary T20I in the host country. A number of their players stepped out from the game due to security concerns. Recently, the SLC got very positive feedback from a security delegation that visited Karachi and Lahore.

“The PCB is pleased with the outcome of its discussions with Sri Lanka Cricket, which has supported Pakistan in its efforts and endeavors for the complete revival of international cricket. The tour for limited-overs matches will also provide Sri Lanka with an even better understanding of the ground situation before discussing a schedule of the Tests,” – Mani said.

“The upcoming matches will end the long await of the Pakistan cricket fans and supporters to watch modern-day stars from both sides live in action. This is something that will contribute immensely to our revamped domestic cricket structure. We are very grateful to Sri Lanka Cricket President Mr. Shammi Silva, his board and players for responding positively to our request to play matches in Pakistan,” – Mani added.

Here is the schedule of the series

View below topics in this post

  • September 27, Friday, 1st ODI, Karachi
  • September 29, Sunday, 2nd ODI, Karachi
  • October 2, Wednesday, 3rd ODI, Karachi
  • October 5, Saturday, 1st T20I, Lahore
  • October 7, Monday, 2nd T20I, Lahore
  • October 9, Wednesday, 3rd T20I, Lahore
Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here