Pakistan Confirms 12-Man Team For First T20I Versus Bangladesh

Pakistan 12-Man Team For First T20I Versus Bangladesh
Image Source:

Pakistan looked impressive in the recently finished 2021 T20 World Cup. Babar Azam captained the Pakistan side brilliantly as they went undefeated in the Super 12 stage but were lost against Australia in the semi-finals. Following the defeat, the group proceeded to Bangladesh to prepare for the 3-match T20I series, the first of which would be held on November 19. Here is Pakistan 12-Man Team For First T20I Versus Bangladesh.

The side has been projecting optimism after Babar took up the responsibility, confirming the XI or a 12-man lineup 24 hours before the match. Pakistan has done the same before Friday’s first encounter. At least 1 adjustment was foreseen in the team, however, Mohammad Hafeez opting out of the series to give younger players an opportunity.

Pakistan’s Top-3 Remain Unchanged For The Clash

At least 3 adjustments might be made to the XI that faced Australia in the semi-finals a week ago. Pakistan’s top-3 would be remaining the same, featuring Mohammad Rizwan, Babar, and Fakhar Zaman in the side. Asif Ali and Imad Wasim were not named to the 12-man team that was revealed.

Pakistan’s 12-man team will have Khushdil Shah, Haider Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr and Mohammad Nawaz. Haider and Khushdil appear to be the favourites to participate, leaving Hafeez and Asif out. Both players are expected for their aggressiveness with the bat, and it might come down to a toss-up between Nawaz and Wasim.

Nawaz is a shaped substitute for Imad Wasim in that he can introduce the bowling and bat at 7 to provide batting stability. If the surfaces in Dhaka remain slow and low, like they did during the bilateral series versus Australia and New Zealand prior to the World Cup, Pakistan may opt for an additional spinner. In such scenario, Hasan Ali could be asked to make room for Wasim in the starting lineup.

PAK’s 12-man for 1st T20I vs BAN:

Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan (VC), Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf.

Also read: India Beat New Zealand In The 1st T20I To Seize 1-0 Lead

Matched Content Ad