PAK Signs Hayden And Philander As Coaches For T20 World Cup

PAK Signs Hayden And Philander As Coaches
Image Source:

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has signed former Australia batsman Matthew Hayden and former South Africa bowler Vernon Philander for the 2021 T20 World Cup, which will be held in the UAE and Oman from 17 October to  14 November, PAK Signs Hayden And Philander As Coaches ahead of t20 World Cup.

Hayden and Philander’s appointments came as a result of Misbah-ul-Haq and Waqar Younis’ resignations from their relevant posts as head coach and bowling coach. Whereas the PCB named acting national team coaches Abdul Razzaq and Saqlain Mushtaq for Pakistan’s next home series versus New Zealand, the board chose overseas coaches for the multi-team event in the UAE.

Hayden was among Australia’s finest destructive openers, appearing in 103 Tests, 161 One-Day Internationals, and 9 Twenty-20 Internationals between 1994 and 2009, scoring 8625, 6133, and 308 runs in total, featuring 40 international hundreds. Similarly, SA pace bowler Vernon Philander has played 64 Tests, 30 ODIs, and 7 T20Is for his country, taking 224, 41, and 4 wickets, accordingly. In 2020, he declared his retirement.

Pakistan’s busy cricket calendar in the next year is the major reason for their decision

Ramiz Raja, who was brought in as the PCB chairman on the same day as replace Ehsan Mani. Raja was chosen immediately and without opposition after Prime Minister and PCB patron-in-chief Imran Khan recommended him.

Misbah and Waqar, for their part, highlighted Pakistan’s busy cricket calendar in the next year is the major reason for their decision, while Waqar, adopting a hint from him, moved aside, adding that the two took over the controls together and must depart together as well.

Pakistan also grouped with India, New Zealand, and Afghanistan, will open their T20 World Cup campaign on 24 October versus arch-rivals India, followed by matches versus New Zealand on 26 October, Afghanistan on 29 October, and the other qualifying nations on 7th and 9th November. In 2009, Pakistan last won the mega event.

Pakistan will play New Zealand for 8 white-ball games in the push to the main event, beginning with ODIs in Rawalpindi on 17, 19, and 21  September. The ODIs will be backed by 5 T20Is in Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on 25, 26, 29, September, and 1 and 3 October.

Matched Content Ad