New Zealand Named Four Spinners For Sri Lanka Tests

New Zealand Named Four Spinners For Sri Lanka Tests
New Zealand Named Four Spinners For Sri Lanka Tests
Article top

New Zealand has picked four spinners in their 15-man squad for the two-test series against Sri Lanka. Both the teams are going to begin their World Test Championship next month on Monday.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead was the one who has picked up the four spinners in the squad. The two among them where the off-spinner William Somerville and the right-arm Ajaz Patel, who played an important role in making New Zealand win of 2-1 series against Pakistan in UAE last year. Patel picked 13 wickets in the series and Somerville smashed seven in the final test in Abu Dhabi.

The other two spinners along with them are left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner and leg-spin Todd Astle. Astle made his Test debut in Sri Lanka in 2012 whereas Santner was playing the test after two years as he was suffering from a knee injury. However, after his recovery from the knee injury, he has represented in the World Cup and also in the ODIs this season.

“Playing three spinners is an option in Sri Lankan conditions and we believe this group provides the best variations and skill mix on offer. England was playing three spinners against Sri Lanka on their successful visit there last year and the slow bowlers also dominated the previous series against South Africa.” – Gary Stead said.

In New Zealand’s squad, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, and Neil Wagner are the specialist pacers and Colin de Grandhomme will be the bowling all-rounder. Lockie Ferguson, who has picked up 21 wickets in the recently concluded World Cup, was nowhere in the squad.

“It’s good timing for us after the World Cup. It was an incredible time for the team and the country, but we’re now excited to move forward as a group and sink our teeth into another opportunity.” – Gary Stead added.

The first Test of the series will be starting on August 14 at Galle. The second match will take place at Colombo PSS, on August 22.

New Zealand’s Test Squad:

View below topics in this post

  1. Kane Williamson (c)
  2. Todd Astle
  3. Tom Blundell
  4. Trent Boult
  5. Colin de Grandhomme
  6. Tom Latham
  7. Henry Nicholls
  8. Ajaz Patel
  9. Jeet Raval
  10. Will Somerville
  11. Mitchell Santner
  12. Tim Southee
  13. Ross Taylor
  14. Neil Wagner
  15. BJ Watling
Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here