MSK Prasad Says He Has No Regrets Over Leaving The Post

India Squad For T20 World Cup 2021
MSK Prasad Says he has no regrets over leaving the post
Article top

View below topics in this post

MSK Prasad, the outgoing chairman of the selection committee of the Indian cricket team, has said that he had no regrets over leaving the post a year before the T20 World Cup. After the BCCI AGM meeting on Sunday, Sourav Ganguly President BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) spoke to the media and said that there would be no extension of tenures for any of the 5 members in the MSK Prasad-led selection committee. Speaking in an interview with India Today, MSK Prasad said that he did his best to create a good bench strength.

“That [extension of tenures] is not up to me to talk. BCCI will do whatever it deems fit. Whatever the policy is, the BCCI has to follow,” Prasad said.

When a reporter has asked Prasad whether he had any regrets, he replied, “I don’t think so (regret ending tenure just a year before T20 World Cup). For everything, there is a time factor. Whatever time that you have, you should look to give your best. We have done it, I think.”

Prasad added: “We have left enough bench strength. If the team can get the combinations right, I am sure India will win the T20 World Cup next year.”

Ganguly says Tenure Is Over

On Sunday, after the BCCI meeting, Sourav Ganguly had said there would be a new chairman of selectors soon. “Those whose tenure is over is over.” MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda were appointed in the year 2015 and their 4-year tenure has come to an end. Former chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar, meanwhile, has emerged as a possible contender from West Zone and if the CAC (Capital Athletic Conference) agrees, he could be a strong candidate for the chairman of selectors’ post.

During Dilip Vengsarkar’s first stint as a chief selector, Sourav Ganguly had made a comeback for the South African tour in 2006-07.

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place from 18th October 2020.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here