MS Dhoni Named As Captain Of Decade

Moin Khan Said MS Dhoni Changed The Face Of Indian Cricket
Image Source:

The year has come to its end and it brings winding down of an entire decade with him. The official website of Cricket Australia which is has put their ODI team of the decade together, and they have chosen the former Skipper of India Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the man who leads his sides which is full of superstars.

In the two world titles Dhoni has captained team India- One of the two titles was the T20 World Cup of 2007 and the other was in 2011 as the fifty over World Cup.

Rohit Sharma whose 2019 year was full of memories where he recorded 500 runs in the World Cup, is a well-known opener of India.

Another side, there is the ace of South Africa Hashim Amla for whom even Shikhar Dhawan also gets an honorable mention of his place.

The current Indian skipper Virat Kohli is on number three who is followed by AB de Villiers the South African cricketer, Shakib Al-Hasan the Bangladesh all-rounder, damaging English wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler and finally Dhoni whose task is to work behind the wickets in front of Buttler.

The bowling attack is also strong, with Rashid Khan throwing in an element of guile and spin, and Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult and Lasith Malinga make up the rest of the squad for tearaway speeds.

Dhoni Appointed As Captain Of ODI squad

Although Dhoni was appointed as captain of the ODI squad, Virat Kohli was named captain of the decade’s Test XI, in a decade in which he led India to become the world’s number 1 test team.

There is no wonder that both in the Test and ODI teams Kohli finds himself. Over the past decade, the 31-year-old has probably been the best batsman.

70 International hundreds have already amassed by him and he is on the back of Ricky Ponting who is on 71 and the Sachin Tendulkar is on 100.

Kohli, whose average is more the 50 in all formats, in a third of the list he is also on the third position. He is leading of all-time run-scorer with 21,444 runs and is on the back of Ponting who has 27,483 and Tendulkar having 34, 357 runs.

The captain of India has scored all around the world but for him, Australia has a special place, who has scored 9 hundred, in which six is in Tests and three is in ODIs Down Under.

To shatter more records Kohli is primed, as the leading run-getter, he ended 2019.

In Test XI of the decade, the others added Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn Stuart Broad, Nathan Lyon, and James Anderson.

The Decade of ODI squad:

Hasim Amla, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler, MS Dhoni, Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga.

The Decade of the Test Squad:

David Warner, Alastair Cook, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, AN de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, Nathan Lyon, James Aderson.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here