Most POTM Among Active Players in Tests

Players with most POTM awards in Tests
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Active Players with the most POTM awards in Tests: There are only a few players in world cricket who continue to be passionate about Test cricket. These players are the ones who keep the flag flying high for Test cricket. The number of times these players have won the award shows how important they are to a side’s success. Their numbers are up there with the very best in the business. They will add more awards to their kitty as they further traverse the distance in their career.

We look at Players with most POTM awards in Tests among active ones:

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

#10 James Anderson – 8

He is third among the highest wicket-takers in Tests. James Anderson is just behind Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne. The English pacer is among the four players from his side to feature on this list. He has won the player of the match award 8 times over his 177 Tests career.  

#9 David Warner – 8

He is the only opener to feature on this list. David Warner has been arguably the finest Test opener in the world right since he made his Test debut. Warner has gone on to win the award 8 times over his 101 Test career.

#8 Kagiso Rabada – 8 

He is the only South African player to be part of this elite list. Kagiso Rabada has the best strike rate among bowlers to have picked more than 250 Test wickets. He is a big reason why a team in transition like the African side continues to challenge top-tier teams. Rabada has won the award 8 times already in his brief career of 58 Tests so far.

#7 Virat Kohli – 9

He continues to remain the flag bearer of Test cricket. Virat Kohli-led India was the side to beat in Tests across conditions. He is the only contemporary batsman to score more than 5 double centuries (7*). Kohli has won the award 9 times in the 104 Tests he has played so far.

#6 Ravichandran Ashwin – 9

He has been the numero uno spinner in Test cricket since the time he made his debut in 2011. Ravichandran Ashwin’s duel with Nathan Lyon for the pole position continues to remain one of the great sights of Test cricket. Ashwin has won the award 9 times in 88 Tests so far.

#5 Stuart Broad – 10

He has the ability to run through sides on his day. Stuart Broad has arguably been the most impactful pacer for England despite playing alongside Anderson. His 8-15 against Australia in the Ashes is one of the most iconic bowling spells of all time. Broad has won the award 10 times in his 159 Tests career.

#4 Kane Williamson – 10 

He is New Zealand’s greatest Test batsman of all time. Kane Williamson continues to remain the cornerstone of New Zealand’s batting. The former Test skipper has won the player of the award 10 times already in his 90-Tests career so far.

#3 Ben Stokes – 10

He along with coach Brendon McCullum is credited with reviving Test cricket. Ben Stokes is an inspirational figure in England’s setup. He is one of the world’s premier all-rounders. Stokes has won the award 10 times in his 89-Tests career.

#2 Steve Smith – 12

He is regarded as the best Test batter almost in the same breath as Sir Don Bradman. Steve Smith is insanely consistent when it comes to scoring runs in Test cricket. He has already won the award 12 times in the 92 Tests he has played so far.

#1 Joe Root – 13 

He has reinvented his batting since the start of 2021. Joe Root has powered past his other illustrious batting peers to establish himself as the leading Test batter currently. He has won the award 13 times in 127 Tests he has played so far. Root comfortably tops this list of winning the most POTM awards.

Matched Content Ad