Most Expensive Overseas Signing In IPL History – Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins
Image Source

Pat Cummins officially became the most expensive overseas player in IPL history as Kolkata Knight Riders picked him for a massive amount of INR 15.50 crore, which is more than a crore compared to what Rising Supergiants spent on Ben Stokes in IPL 2017.

In the past, Cummins played for Kolkata Knight Riders. He played four games for the team between the years 2014 and 2015 seasons. Overall, in IPL, he took 17 wickets from 16 IPL games at an economy rate of 8.29. 

Compatriot Glenn Maxwell too earned himself a huge payday. The all-rounder was signed by Kings XI Punjab for INR 10.75 crore after his strife with Delhi Capitals. The 31-year-old Maxwell has been a part of Mohali-based franchise in the past, with his best season (2014) leading to the team’s run to the final of the competition. Delhi had signed Maxwell in the 2018 season for INR 9 crore.

Great day for all-rounders and left-arm seamers

Chris Morris, one of the players to reach the INR 10 crore mark, joined Royal Challengers Bangalore. In 2019 Mzansi Super League, Morris scored 122 runs at a strike-rate of 176 and took 10 wickets from 11 games at an economy rate of 8.20.

Sam Curran, England’s left-arm seamer, went for a lower price compared to his previous season. Now, he is part of Chennai Super Kings for a price of INR 5.5 crore. The Super Kings lost Nathan Coulter-Nile (INR 8.5 cr) after considerable bidding with Mumbai Indians and ended up picking Piyush Chawal for INR 6.75 crore even though they already have Imran Tahir and Karn Sharma (two leg spinners). 

Left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell was successful in earning the 17-times the price of INR 50 lakh as Kings XI Punjab shelled out INR 8.5 crores for him, beating competition from Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals. Jaydev Unadkat saw his value decrease again but went back to Rajasthan Royals for INR 3 crore. 

Other huge buys:

  • Eoin Morgan – KKR – INR 5.25 cr
  • Jason Roy – DC – INR 1.5 cr
  • Chris Lynn – MI – INR 2 cr
  • Robin Uthappa – RR – INR 3 cr
  • Aaron Finch – RCB – INR 4.4 cr
  • Alex Carey – DC – INR 2.4 cr
  • Varun Chakravarthy – KKR – INR 4 cr

And more to come…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here