Look to score runs against Shaheen Afridi don’t just survive: Gautam Gambhir to team India

Gautam To Team India
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Gautam To Team India: Former Indian Opener Gautam Gambhir spoke about Indian batters how they can face Shaheen Shah Afridi.

India should make a strategy to tackle Shaheen Shah Afridi in an aggressive manner in the first most awaited match of the Tournament. Former Cricketer Gautam Gambhir mentioned that for the upcoming T20 match to be held at Melbourne Cricket Ground on 23rd of this month

Recovering from the knee injury, which made him away from the squad for Asia Cup is now a threat to the Indian Batters at the massive ground MCG.

Do not look to survive the overs of Shaheen Afridi rather attack and score runs. Because when you look to survive things become small. Look to your batting stance, back lift, and footwork, and try to get into a better position. Try to time the rather to charge.

In terms of the batting order, India has some of the ICC top-ranked batters in the list who will definitely take over Shaheen Afridi with the smart and experience of batting.

Gambhir’s former team mate Irfan Pathan also added for the Indian Batters to play smartly and naturally at MCG. Although, it will be difficult to hit the boundaries in the sides, as the sides of MCG is massive and rotating the strike would be a good move.

Do not give them any width at any costs they take the power play as an opportunity to score better. Just try to use the pace of the pitch. Pakistan batters take time on the pitch and Indian bowlers have to break the partnerships. Irfan added for the bowlers to tackle Babar and Rizwan.

The bowlers will have to maintain the line length for both the batsmen. For Rizwan you can bowl full length and try to hit beneath the knee roll. Whereas Babar gets LBW often you have to target the front foot. He plays it slightly open where Bhuvaneshwar and Arshdeep Singh can use their swing. Irfan Concluded.

India vs Pakistan to held on 23rd October at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC Squad India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh. Standby Players: Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur

Pakistan Squad: – Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah. Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah. Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir

Matched Content Ad