Kusal Perera Is Doubtful For T20-WC Due To A Hamstring Injury

Kusal Perera
Image Source: Twitter.com

Despite suffering a hamstring injury, Sri Lanka batsman Kusal Perera seems to be doubtful for the T20 World Cup in 2021. The lefty picked up the injury during Sri Lanka’s 3rd T20I versus South Africa. Having scored 39 runs off 33 balls with 3-fours, Perera has struggled to play between the wickets.

Because of the condition of his hamstring injury, Perera may not be able to recover quickly. With only a month away from the competition, it’s unclear if he’ll be able to reach the required fitness standards. Sri Lanka cricket selected their team for the major show. The mega event is set to begin on Sunday, October 17th.

Sri Lanka team physician confirms that they can’t do a fast rehabilitation

The injury is a sprinter’s injury, which can be picked up while running between the wickets. Because of the nature of the injury, we can’t do a fast rehabilitation,” Sri Lanka team physician Dr. Daminda Attanayake said.

In the shorter forms, Perera has been an important component of the Lankan side. He has 1416 runs at an avg. of 27.76 in 52 T20Is, with 12 half-centuries to record for his efforts.

The Lankans will face Namibia in their opening match at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Monday, October 18. Sri Lanka is a member of Group A, which also includes Namibia, Ireland, and the Netherlands. They will be a part of the Super 12 if they survive to the following round.

Ahead of the World Cup, Sri Lanka will play 2 ODIs against Oman at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground (Ministry Turf 1) on Thursday, 7th October and Saturday, 9th October. The series would be crucial of their preparation for the events in Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

Sri Lanka will also play 2 warm-up games on 12th and 14th October, before proceeding to the World Cup.

Sri Lanka T20-WC Squad:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana.

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga.