KL Rahul set to replace Rohit Sharma as skipper for Bangladesh Test series

India tour of Bangladesh Test Series
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

INDIA tour of BANGLADESH Test Series, 2022

India tour of Bangladesh Test Series: Due to a dislocated thumb, India captain Rohit Sharma is ruled out of the two-match Test series against Bangladesh commencing on December 14 due to a thumb injury.

Rohit will be replaced as the team’s captain by KL Rahul. India head coach Rahul Dravid has already confirmed that Rohit won’t take any part in the third and final ODI against Bangladesh on Saturday. With his left thumb heavily wrapped, Rohit made a valiant effort by scoring an unbeaten 51 off 28 balls while batting at No. 9.

Good Chance for KL Rahul

It is a very good opportunity for KL Rahul to make a mark regarding his performance. Even though he is struggling with consistency and form. He is the kind of player who can change the game and make an impact by helping his team with good ideas as he will lead the team for the injured skipper Rohit Sharma.

What Happened to Skipper Rohit Sharma?

In the second over of the match, the seasoned right-hander was stationed at the second slip. The Incident happened when he was hurt while attempting to take a catch of Bangladesh starter Anamul Haque Bijoy. The seasoned opener left the field in pain and did not participate in the rest of Bangladesh’s innings.

His scans, which were performed, showed a dislocation rather than a fracture. Instead of starting the batting, Rohit entered the field at No. 9 and hammered five sixes. His performance, however, was insufficient to help India win the game as they fell short by five runs. Thus dropping their second consecutive ODI series in Bangladesh.

Also Read: When & Where to watch India women vs Australia women T20I Series Live

Who Could Replace Rohit Sharam in the Squad

Now with KL Rahul leading the side in Rohit’s absence. As per multiple reports, Abhimanyu Easwaran will mostly join the team in Chattogram. Abhimanyu Easwaran has scored successive hundreds in the ongoing four-day unofficial Tests against Bangladesh A. So it is a guess or prediction that he will mostly replace skipper Rohit.

Full Player Squad for India’s Tour of Bangladesh, 2022

India Squad: KL Rahul (C), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik.

Bangladesh Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mominul Haque, Taskin Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shoriful Islam, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Zakir Hasan, Litton Das, Rejaur Rahman Raja, and Anamul Haque Bijoy.

Matched Content Ad